Notice: Information and plans for upcoming academic terms. Learn more.

Faculty Listing

Tobias Sperlich

Department Head & Associate Professor
DPhil, University of Oxford

Office: CL 306.5
E-mail: tobias.sperlich@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4773

Current classes
Fall 2020 - ANTH 100-991

Research interests
Polynesia (esp. Samoa, New Zealand), Museum Ethnography, Community Museums in Saskatchewn, History of Anthropology, Anthropology of Art, Material Culture, Tourism

Susanne Kuehling

Associate Professor
PhD, Australian National University

Office: CL 306.2
E-mail: susanne.kuehling@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4195

Current classes
Fall 2020 - ANTH 100-002 and ANTH 401-001

Research interests
Gift exchange, Place, Personhood, Migration, Gender, Ethics, Oceania (Melanesia, Micronesia)

Gediminas Lankauskas

Associate Professor
PhD, University of Toronto

Office: CL 306.4
E-mail: gediminas.lankauskas@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4181

Current classes
Fall 2020 - ANTH 100-001 and ANTH 203-001

Research interests
Religion, Morality, Social Memory, "Modernity", Nationalism, the State, Popular Culture in postsocialist Lithuania, Eastern Europe

Carlos David LondoƱo Sulkin

Professor
PhD, University of St. Andrews

Office: CL 306.3
E-mail: carlos.londono@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5405

Research interests
The Anthropology of Morality and Ethics, Pragmatism, Relativism, Indigenous Amazonia, Semiotics and Language, Female Genital Surgeries, the Anthropology of Science.

Alex Oehler

Assistant Professor

Office: CL 306.5
E-mail: alex.oehler@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4770

Current classes
Fall 2020 - ANTH 100-395 & ANTH 340-001

Research interests

Human-animal relations, sentient ecology and sacred landscapes, hunting and pastoral societies, ancestral language revitalization and identity, Inuit and circumpolar ethnography, Siberian and Inner Asian studies

 

Charisma Thomson

Instructor
MA, Carleton University

E-mail: charisma.thomson@uregina.ca

Current classes
Spring/Summer 2020 - ANTH 100-397/398 Fall 2020 - ANTH 100-003

Research interests
Ritual, Symbolic Anthropology, Performance, Material Culture, Popular Culture, North America, Medical Anthropology

Chris Kortright

Sessional Lecturer and Adjunct Professor
PhD, University of California, Davis

E-mail: Chris.Kortright@uregina.ca

Current classes
Summer 2020 - ANTH 100-399

Research interests
Research interests: anthropology of science; global capitalism, crop biotechnology; international development; posthumanist anthropology; resource and food security; and the politics of innovation

Cheyanne Desnomie

Sessional Lecturer

E-mail: cheyanne.desnomie@uregina.ca

Research interests

Indigenous identity, oral histories, colonialism and decolonization, social memory, Indigenous ways of knowing and being.

Julie Mushynsky

Sessional Lecturer and Adjunct Professor
PhD Flinders University

E-mail: julie.mushynsky@uregina.ca

Current classes
Spring 2020 - ANTH 100-396 Fall 2020 - ANTH 242AK-397

Research interests

Applied anthropology, conflict archaeology, colonialism, Indigenous landscapes and seascapes, community-based research, and heritage studies