Returning to campus: Information, updates and vaccination requirements. Learn more.

Faculty Listing

Gennadiy Chernov

Department Head; Associate Professor
Ph.D (University of Oregon at Eugene)

Office: AH 105.19
E-mail: Gennadiy.Chernov@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4090

Research interests

  • Communication studies
  • Psychological mechanisms of media effects
  • Commercialization of television news
  • Specialization in experimental studies of agenda-setting theory

Dawn Blaus

Sessional Lecturer

E-mail: Dawn.Blaus@uregina.ca

Layton Burton

Lab Instructor II (Broadcast)

Office: AH 105.16
E-mail: Layton.Burton@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4615

Joe Couture

Sessional Lecturer
MPA (Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy), BA (University of Regina)

E-mail: couturej@uregina.ca

Austin Davis

Sessional Lecturer

E-mail: Austin.Davis@uregina.ca

Darrell Davis

Dallas W. Smythe Chair in Journalism and the Public Interest
BA (University of Regina)

Office: AH 105.25
E-mail: Darrell.Davis@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5677

Mitch Diamantopoulos

Associate Professor
PhD (University of Saskatchewan); MA (University of Regina); BA Hons (University of Regina)

Office: AH 105.22
E-mail: Mitch.Diamantopoulos@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4092

Research interests

  • History, politics and political economy of mass media, including alternative media
  • Media sociology and media cultural studies
  • Democratic approaches to journalism theory
  • Journalism history, particularly on the Canadian Prairies
  • Media reform movements and innovative firm models for journalism
  • Cooperative studies, community economic development and the social economy
  • The role of journalism in an age of religious backlash, bigotry and violence

Aziz Douai

Professor; Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
PhD (Pennsylvania State University)

E-mail: Aziz.Douai@uregina.ca

Research interests

  • Disruptive communication technologies
  • Terrorism and the media
  • Global communications and conflict
  • Media and crime
  • Middle Eastern and North African media and politics

Patricia Elliott

Distinguished Professor of Investigative and Community Journalism, seconded to First Nations University of Canada
PhD (University of Saskatchewan); MA (University of Regina); BA (University of Regina)

E-mail: pelliott@firstnationsuniversity.ca
Website: http://www.patriciaelliott.ca

Trevor Grant

Lecturer; Graduate Studies Coordinator
MFA (University of Regina); BA (University of Regina); Broadcast (Mount Royal College)

Office: AH 105.26
E-mail: Trevor.Grant@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5051

Research interests

  • Narrative devices, speech types, signs, codes and aesthetic constructs within the documentary form
  • Applications of camera, sound and editing in illustrating complex narratives
  • Music and Media as sites of resistance in contemporary culture

Bridget Keating

Sessional Lecturer

E-mail: Bridget.Keating@uregina.ca