Faculty Listing

Salvador Alfaro

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 415.3
E-mail: Salvador.Alfaro@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

Dawn Anderson

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 226
E-mail: Dawn.Anderson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4101
Fax: 306-585-4815

Robert Biezenski

Instructor III
BA (Hons) (Liverpool), MA (Memorial), PhD (Toronto); Instructor

Office: CL 227
E-mail: Robert.Biezenski@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4152
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests
Analog theory and analog sociology; sociology theory

Henry Chow

Professor
Professor and Graduate Program Co-ordinator, BA (Hon), MA, PhD (University of Toronto), Grad Cert BS (Ontario Theological Seminary), Dip CPC (Institute of Counselling, UK)

Office: CL 231
E-mail: Henry.Chow@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5604
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests
Criminology and Criminal Justice, Immigration and Multiculturalism, Race and Ethnic Relations, Social Gerontology, the Sociology of Education, the Sociology of Religion, and Survey Research Methods.

J. F. (John) Conway

Professor - Retired
BA (Hons), MA (Saskatchewan), PhD (Simon Fraser), Chair

Office: CL 229
E-mail: John.Conway@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4052
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests
Canadian political economy; historical development of Canadian capitalism; political sociology; Quebec/English Canada conflicts; the West in Confederation; agrarian populism; social movements; family and gender

H. P. Diaz

Professor Emeritus and Adjunct, Director, Canadian Research Plains Centre
BA (Chile), MA, PhD (York)

Research interests
Sociology of development (Latin America); rural sociology (rural movements and organizations; agricultural policies, social capital); sustainable development (environmental policies, environmental conflicts, adaptation to climate change); sociology of knowledge (social sciences and social policies)

Amber Fletcher

Associate Professor
PhD, Interdisciplinary Studies, Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Regina; MA, Women’s Studies, York University; BA (High Honours), Women’s Studies, University of Regina

Office: CL 223
E-mail: Amber.Fletcher@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4183
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests
Sociology of gender; gender and climate change; gender and public policy (particularly agricultural and trade policy); gender and water; qualitative research methodology and methods; participatory action research; critical realism; feminist theories; sociology of the family.

Loretta Gerlach

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 415.3
E-mail: Loretta.Gerlach@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

P. A. Gingrich

Professor Emeritus and Adjunct
BA (Western Ontario), MA (Toronto)

E-mail: Paul.Gingrich@uregina.ca

A. M. Hayford

Professor Emeritus and Adjunct
BA (Barnard College), MA, PhD (Michigan); Professor

E-mail: Alison.Hayford@uregina.ca

Research interests
Urban and community issues; gender issues; social movements; women's studies; family issues

Margot Hurlbert

Professor (Cross-appointment in Justice Studies & Sociology)
BAdm (Regina), LLB, LLM (York)

Office: CL 235
E-mail: Margot.Hurlbert@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4232
Fax: 306-585-4815

Salvador Alfaro

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 415.3
E-mail: Salvador.Alfaro@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

Janelle Jackiw

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 415.3
E-mail: Janelle.Jackiw@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

JoAnn Jaffe

Professor
AB (Hons) (Ohio) MS, PhD (Cornell)

Office: CL 221
E-mail: JoAnn.Jaffe@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4198
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests
Sociology of development and underdevelopment; sociology of the environment; sustainable/alternative development; gender; farming systems research; rural household studies; social ecology; peasant economics; agrarian social structure; Haiti; Caribbean; Costa Rica; Chile; rural Saskatchewan

Rozzet Jurdi-Hage

Associate Professor - Department Head
PhD, Social Demography, The University of Western Ontario; MS, Population and Health, American University (Beirut); BA, Political Studies, American University (Beirut)

Office: CL 217
E-mail: Rozzet.Jurdi@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4196
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests

Population Health; Health Information, Statistics & Survey; At Risk & Vulnerable Populations; Risk, Causation, & Prevention; Immigration & Settlement; Postsecondary Students’ Experiences and Outcomes

Shelley Kilbride

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 415.3
E-mail: Shelley.Kilbride@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

K. M. Knuttila

Professor Emeritus and Adjunct
BA (Hons), MA (Regina), PhD (Toronto)

E-mail: mknuttila@brocku.ca

Research interests
Crisis and change in rural society; agricultural policy and globalization; men and masculinities; health care reform/ role of university and the value of liberal education; theories of the state

Mark Lajoie

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 415.3
E-mail: Mark.Lajoie@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

André Magnan

Associate Professor
Bachelor of Science, Honours (Biochemistry), University of Saskatchewan; Master of Arts (Social Studies), University of Regina; PhD (Sociology), University of Toronto

Office: CL 234
E-mail: Andre.Magnan@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4863
Fax: 306-585-4815

Evan Morris

Instructor Emeritus

Rob Nestor

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 415.3
E-mail: Rob.Nestor@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

Cassandra Ozog

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 228
E-mail: Cassandra.Ozog@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

Claire Polster

Professor
BA (Queen's), MA, PhD (York)

Office: CL 225
E-mail: Claire.Polster@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4158
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests
Sociology of education - particularly higher education; the sociology of knowledge; social policy; and women's issues

Andrew Stevens

Associate Member
Assistant Professor of Business Administration

E-mail: andrew.stevens@uregina.ca

R. M. Stirling

Professor Emeritus and Adjunct
BSA (Saskatchewan), MA (Alberta), PhD (Indiana)

E-mail: Bob.Stirling@uregina.ca

Lori Walker

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 226
E-mail: lori.walker@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

Jeffrey Walters

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: CL 228
E-mail: Jeffrey.Walters@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4186
Fax: 306-585-4815

James Warren

Assistant Professor
MA in political science U of R and interdisciplinary PhD, Canadian Plains Research Center, U of R.

Office: CL 233
E-mail: James.Warren@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4984
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests

The political economy of water and drought management on the Canadian Prairies, impacts and adaptation related to climate change for rural communities, sustainable water and land management for western Canadian agriculture.