About the Faculty


The University of Regina is predominately situated in Treaty 4 Territory with a presence in Treaty 6 Territory. Treaty 4 is the traditional territory of the Cree, Saulteaux, Nakota, Lakota and Dakota peoples, and is the homeland of the Métis people. As educators in these territories, it is our collective priority to ensure all learners gain a deeper understanding of our shared histories and contemporary relationships. Indigenization and reconciliation are our collective responsibilities. 

The Faculty of Education at the University of Regina has a fine reputation for strong undergraduate teacher education programs, graduate programs and adult education. The Faculty has excellent longstanding relationships with educational agencies in the province and has been a leader in educational developments over the years. Our motto, "Inspiring and Transforming Education", is reflected in the abstract logo of the emergence of a butterfly from a cocoon symbolic of the faculty, which is always emerging, and in the process transforming what education means while being transformed by those new understandings. Students and faculty journey together on this search to better understand education in order to bring meaningful change to their practice.

The structure of the faculty features an administrative component consisting of a Dean, three Associate Deans (Faculty Development and Human Resources, Student Services and Undergraduate Programs, Research and Graduate Programs); a Director of Professional Development and Field Experiences; a variety of programs at both the undergraduate and graduate levels; and an array of subject area groupings that bring together faculty with similar disciplinary interests. Various committees involve the active participation of faculty members in the work of the faculty. Several Indigenous teacher education programs are associated with the faculty: Saskatchewan Urban Native Teacher Education Program (SUNTEP, Regina),  Indigenous Education (First Nations University of Canada, Regina), Yukon Native Teacher Education Program (YNTEP, Whitehorse), and Gabriel Dumont Institute (GDI) Community-Based Programs. Special units in the Faculty include the Centre for Educational Research, Collaboration and Development.

Our academic and administrative offices and centres are located on the second and third floors of the Education Building. The Student Services Office is located on the third floor of the Education Building. The Bureau du Bac is located on the second floor of the Language Institute. These buildings are located on the Main Campus of the University of Regina at 3737 Wascana Parkway in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada.

Faculty Structure Document (330 KB)PDF

      Connect with us
                                                                                                                         Contact Us    Like us on Facebook