Virtual Events Calendar

RSS Feed
RSS feeds

Subscribe to receive automatic updates from the U of R Events Calendar.

Browse by date:

< March 2021 >
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa

Browse by category:

Athletics - General

Conferences - U of R Sponsored

Cougars & Rams - Home Games



Public Lectures & Seminars


Visual Arts

Youth Camps


Submit an event

Related links:

Students' Union Calendar

< Back to events listing

1st Annual Robertson Lecture: Small Nuclear

• Dr. Robert S. Walker, Senior Fellow, University of Ottawa's Institute for Science Society and Policy and retired federal government scientist and executive.
• Dr. M. Shannon Bragg-Sitton, Lead, Integrated Energy Systems, Idaho National Laboratory (INL).
• Diane Cameron, Director of the Nuclear Energy Division, Natural Resources Canada.

What is the role of Small Modular Nuclear Reactors (SMRs) in providing Saskatchewan with reliable power? Could SMRs help meet climate change mitigation targets to keep global warming well below 2°C? How does Saskatchewan fit into Canada's SMR action plan? A Saskatchewan survey shows public perception is fragmented and many people have questions surrounding SMRs.

This keynote presentation and panel discussion will help to answer these questions as we are joined by JSGS's Dr. Margot Hurlbert, Canada Research Chair in Climate Change, Energy, and Sustainability Policy.

More information:

Date ( Add to your Calendar)
Wednesday, February 17, 2021
7:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

How to Connect
The 2021 Robertson Lecture will be delivered via Zoom. Those interested in attending this free, online lecture must register in advance.

About the Robertson Lecture:

The Robertson Lecture is named in honour of Bev Robertson, and made possible by a generous donation from Dr. Bev Robertson, his wife Elaine, and their family.

This lecture marks the first of an annual event that will explore how public policy shapes or restricts scientific advances and innovation and how the research agenda impacts the production of policy knowledge. The 2021 Robertson Lecture is cohosted by the Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy and the Centre for the Study of Science and Innovation Policy.

Karen Jaster-Laforge