University of Regina celebrates success at 43rd Spring Convocation

By Dale Johnson Posted: June 7, 2017 6:00 a.m.

Spring Convocation is being held at the Conexus Arts Centre, where students receive their degrees, diplomas and certificates.
Spring Convocation is being held at the Conexus Arts Centre, where students receive their degrees, diplomas and certificates. Photo: U of R Photography

The University of Regina’s 43rd annual spring convocation on June 7, 8 and 9 will celebrate the success of its newest graduates. Convocation will be held at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina starting at 2 p.m. each day.

In all, 2,088 students are graduating and will join the ranks of more than 70,000 University of Regina alumni.

The University of Regina’s President’s Medal is awarded at each Convocation to a student receiving a first degree who has shown academic excellence as well as major leadership in, and commitment to, extra-curricular activities. The recipient of the medal for the 2017 Spring Convocation is Clayton Lorne Green, who is earning a Bachelor of Indigenous Social Work. His volunteer activities include working with residential school survivors. He also was awarded the Faculty of Social Work Dean's Medal.

The recipient of the Governor General’s Academic Gold Medal, which recognizes the most outstanding academic performance of a graduate student, is Marzieh Bayeh, who graduates with a Doctor of Philosophy in Mathematics. She earned an average of 94.80 per cent and has been the recipient of numerous graduate scholarships and awards. She has given 11 invited lectures on her thesis work, including four at the international level.

The Governor-General's Academic Silver Medal is awarded to the undergraduate student who achieves the highest academic standing in a bachelor’s degree program. The recipient is Tasha Baller, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science, with a Cooperative Education designation, achieving Great Distinction with a CGPA of 96 per cent. She has received numerous awards as a result of her outstanding academic record. She was also awarded the University Prize in Science, and the Faculty of Science Dean's Medal.

Other student award winners who demonstrated high academic achievement and a deep commitment to their community are:

•    Michela Crystal Adlem – Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation Prize

•    Danielle Mildred-Ann Corson – Faculty of Media, Art and Performance Dean's Medal

•    Sarah Mae Guy – University Prize in Kinesiology and Health Studies

•    Tristan Kenneth Heisler – University Medal: Engineering and Applied Science

•    Eric Herbert Clifford Holloway – Leon Goldman Scholarship - Business Administration

•    Christine Elizabeth Hubbs – S.E. Stewart Award in Arts

•    Mitchell Bradley Kilgore – Faculty of Business Administration Dean's Medal

•    Kirsten Rebecca Large – Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies Dean's Medal

•    Saghar Chahar Mahali – Faculty of Arts Dean's Medal

•    Nicole Samantha Marchand – Faculty of Nursing Dean's Medal

•    Matthew Alexander Mickleborough – Bachelor of Education After Degree Convocation Prize

•    Adam Richard Tilson – Association of Professional Engineers & Geoscientists of Saskatchewan Gold Medals - Engineering and Applied Science; Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science Dean's Medal

•    Andrea Kristin Wall – Saskatchewan Registered Nurses' Association Gold Medal For Excellence in Clinical Practice

•    Roberta Maria Wallace – W.A. Riddell Award in Media, Art, and Performance

As well, the University of Regina is honouring three exceptional people with honorary doctorate degrees: businessperson and philanthropist Kenneth Levene; business executive Timothy Hearn; and former RCMP Commissioner Beverley Ann Busson, who was in the first class of female RCMP members in 1974.