University of Regina celebrates the winners of the 2020 Alumni Crowning Achievement Awards

News Release Release Date: February 9, 2021 11:40 a.m.

The University of Regina is celebrating the achievements of five remarkable alumni with the 17th annual Alumni Crowning Achievement Awards (ACAA). Because of COVID-19, the annual gala could not be held this year. Instead, a special ACAA video has been produced that will air on AccessNow TV at 8:00 p.m. on Wednesday, February 10. It will also be available to view on Facebook and YouTube.

Since 1992, the ACAAs have celebrated alumni for their personal and professional achievements, and the positive impact they have had on their profession, community and the esteem of the University of Regina.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Shawna Argue BASc’87. Argue is one of the most respected members of Saskatchewan’s engineering community, She has enjoyed a dynamic career, in Saskatchewan and around the world. Argue has also been a tireless volunteer for many organizations in the community including the CIBC Run for the Cure. She was named a Woman of Distinction by the Regina YWCA and is a recipient of the Regina Engineering Society’s Engineering Excellence and Volunteer Awards and, in 2019, was the first woman to receive the Association of Consulting Engineering Companies – SK’s Lieutenant Governor’s Meritorious Achievement Award.

The Distinguished Professional Achievement Award recipient is Rosalie Tsannie-Burseth Med’01. Tsannie-Burseth has be a leader in education and an advocate for Indigenous language and culture for more than 30 years. A residential school survivor who persevered despite being taunted and forbidden to speak her language, she defied cultural expectations with her education and career path. She has served as the director of education at Hatchet Lake First Nation, Chief of the same community and, most recently, associate director with the Prince Albert Grand Council. She has received numerous awards, including the Governor General’s Citizenship Award, Awasis Award, Role Model Award, Women of the Dawn Award, and Lieutenant Governor’s Award.

The Dr. Robert & Norma Ferguson Award for Outstanding Service recipient is Robert Jamont BPAS’89. Jamont has been a passionate volunteer and supporter of the Cougars men’s hockey team since the 1980s. During his decades-long service to the team, Jamont has helped raise more than $500,000, ensuring that Cougars men’s hockey remains competitive. He began as a student volunteer trainer and equipment manager before moving on to become the assistant coach for the team. Jamont played an essential role for the team during the early 1990s, forming the Cougars men’s hockey alumni group. More recently, he took a leading role organizing Cougars men’s hockey alumni events and fundraising activities.

The Award for Distinguished Humanitarian & Community Service recipient is Jacq Brasseur CSW’13, BSW’15. Brasseur receives the award for their compelling impact on the University of Regina as a student, student union representative, and executive director of the UR Pride Centre for Sexuality and Gender Diversity, Brasseur has made a significant impact on the University of Regina as a student, student union representative, and executive director of the UR Pride Centre for Sexuality and Gender Diversity. They are a community organizer, support worker, and advocate for marginalized students, faculty, staff and community members. They have received national acclaim for their advocacy and volunteerism, both for their work at UR Pride and for the work they have done in Canada’s North.

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award recipient is Christine Selinger BEd’11, BSc’11. Selinger receives the award for her dedication to advocacy, volunteerism, and athletic prowess, While a student, she received the President’s Medal for her academic achievements and extracurricular involvement. Although she sustained a spinal cord injury in a climbing accident, in 2011 she completed two bachelor’s degrees in mathematics and education. She is an educator and emerging leader in the field of sex and disability. She is a two-time world champion in Paracanoe and, in 2010, she became the first paraplegic to traverse the rugged Nootka Trail off the west coast of Vancouver Island.

The presenting sponsor of the 2020 Alumni Crowning Achievement Awards is the University of Regina Alumni Association (URAA). Additional sponsors are BMO University of Regina Mastercard, the Faculty of Arts, the Faculty of Social Work, and the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientist of Saskatchewan.

Interviews with recipients can be arranged via the listed media contact.

About the University of Regina
The University of Regina—located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 16,600 students study within the University's 10 faculties. The University has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees. The University of Regina was named the Research University of the Year in 2020 (undergraduate category) by Research Infosource.


- 30 -