Student success and honorary degree recipient to be celebrated at the 2014 University of Regina fall convocation

News Release Release Date: October 17, 2014 1:45 p.m.

The University of Regina’s 41st fall convocation on Friday, October 17 will celebrate the outstanding achievements of 655 graduates. The ceremony, taking place at Conexus Arts Centre in Regina can also be seen live online by visiting

The first full cohort of nursing graduates from the SCBScN program will convocate next June, however, graduating at today’s ceremony are more than 50 students who opted to follow an accelerated stream, and are the first graduates of this significant collaboration between the University or Regina and Saskatchewan Polytechnic.

During the ceremony, 15 students will be presented with awards for academic excellence and commitment to community service. Among those being recognized are Dr. Amber Fletcher and Dr. Darryl Hunter, who will receive the President’s Distinguished Graduate Student Award. This is the first time this award is being awarded to two students were equally deemed worth of this award. The award is presented to the student who demonstrated outstanding academic performance in a graduate program, and has achieved an exceptional thesis, exhibition or performance, and corresponding defense. Fletcher graduated with a Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Studies in Spring 2014 and Hunter is graduating with a doctoral degree in education.

Denine Peterson will be awarded the President’s Medal. She is graduating with a Bachelor of Education. The President’s Medal is awarded to a student with a minimum average of 80 per cent and who has shown leadership in and commitment to extra-curricular activities while at the University of Regina. Peterson is also the recipient of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation Prize, awarded to the most distinguished student in the Faculty of Education who does not hold another degree.

Student award winners who will also be recognized at the 2014 fall convocation include:

Natasha Thomson – University Prize in Fine Arts
Adam Frost – University Prize in Arts
Jia Deng – University Prize in Business Administration and the Faculty of Business Administration Dean’s Medal
Nikki St Onge – University Prize in Engineering and Applied Arts and the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science Dean’s Medal
Alyssa Kosior – University Prize in Kinesiology and Health Studies
Heather Thompson – Saskatchewan Registered Nurses’ Association Gold Medal for Excellence in Clinical Practice
Megan Alberts – Faculty of Nursing/Saskatchewan Polytechnic Dean’s Medal
Fatima Abbas – University Prize in Science
Nicole Almond – University Prize in Social Work

In addition, the University of Regina is bestowing Malcolm Lowe with a Doctor of Fine Arts honoris causa (DFA). He is Concertmaster of the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Previous recipients of University of Regina honorary degrees include former Saskatchewan premiers Tommy Douglas (1978), Allan Blakeney (1993) and Roy Romanow (2005); former Saskatchewan Lieutenant-Governors Sylvia Fedoruk (1991) and Lynda Haverstock (2006); Saskatchewan artist Joe Fafard (1989); hockey great Gordie Howe (1997); Saskatchewan philanthropist and patron of the arts Jacqui Shumiatcher (2002); The Princess Royal, Princess Anne (2004); Regina entrepreneur Frederick Hill (2005); Regina Symphony Orchestra conductor Victor Sawa (2006); internationally renowned speed skater Catriona Le May Doan (2007); paralympic athlete Lisa Marie Franks (2009); past president of the Saskatchewan Roughriders Tom Shepherd (2010); researcher and reformer of higher education Keli Liu (2011); and musician k.d. lang (2013).


- 30 -