Dean of Education Search

Update 6

Friday 8 September 2017


The Search Advisory Committee met yesterday to begin reviewing applications received to date. This work will continue until the final week of September, at which point a shortlist of candidates will be announced.

Campus visits, interviews, and meetings for shortlisted candidates are tentatively planned for the weeks of 16, 23, and 30 October. Dates may need to be adjusted owing to candidates' availability.


Update 5

Wednesday 26 July 2017

As part of the search process, the Search Advisory Committee is reaching out to potential candidates for the Deanship, sending them information, and encouraging them to contact us if they have questions.
 
Faculty, staff, and students are invited to suggest names of individuals who should be contacted. Please send those names, and email addresses if available, to Bryanna Butz (bryanna.butz@uregina.ca) in the Provost's Office no later than Monday 21 August 2017.



Update 4

21 April 2017


The position description has been finalized. It is available here.

Further information about the Faculty of Education is available here.


Update 3

22 March 2017


Dear faculty, staff, and students in the Faculty of Education,

I am writing to you with regard to the Search Advisory Committee charged with recruiting and recommending a new Dean of the Faculty, with appointment effective 1 July 2018 or as soon thereafter as possible.

The Committee will hold its first meeting this week. Regular updates on the Committee’s activities and deliberations will be posted to this page.

At my meeting with Education faculty and staff on 10 February, colleagues requested that the election of faculty members to the Committee be handled by my office. Seven names came forward; five colleagues were elected. In alphabetical order, those people are Alec Couros, Jenn de Lugt, Xia Je, Barbara McNeil, and Pamela Osmond-Johnson.

They will join, again in alphabetical order, Rochelle Fenwick (APT member), Tish Karpa (STF member), Kristina Lee (CUPE member), Cheryl Quewezance (Executive Lead – Indigenization and Deans’ Council member), and Michele Sorensen (student member).

I will chair the Committee, which will be supported in its work by Bryanna Butz of my office, and by Nancy Kazeil (Human Resources).

The search will be governed by University policy EMP-010-030, which is available here.

Sincerely,


Thomas Chase
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)


Update 2

28 February 2017: Email to Faculty of Education


I am writing to update you on preparations for the decanal search in Education. Please respond to this update no later than this Friday.

Since my last update to you (17 February, appended below), I have had one faculty member nominated to serve on the Search Advisory Committee (SAC), and one faculty member volunteer.

I have also had very few responses from faculty and staff to the question of the size of the SAC. The most detailed of these responses suggests, and I agree, that a 13-member SAC is too large.

I would therefore propose the following revised composition:
  • 5 elected faculty members (see below for details of election)
  • 1 APT or CUPE member selected by APT and CUPE members in the Faculty
  • 1 graduate student selected by the graduate students of the Faculty
  • 1 member from the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation, appointed by STF'
  • Executive Lead, Indigenization or an Elder
  • Provost and Vice-President (Academic), Chair

This configuration would reduce the Committee's size from 13 to 10, and in turn reduce the number of challenges in scheduling meetings and interviews. It preserves a broad consultative base from the Faculty.

Please let me have your thoughts about this revised configuration no later than Friday 3 March. Faculty colleagues, please send nominations and self-nominations to serve on the SAC no later than Friday 3 March.

Sincerely,

Thomas Chase
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)


Update 1

17 February 2017: Email to Faculty of Education


Dear faculty, staff, and students in the Faculty of Education,

Thank you for meeting with me on Friday 10 February for a first discussion regarding the upcoming search for the position of Dean of Education, with a five-year appointment to take effect 1 July 2018.

This email summarizes what we discussed on the 10th, and invites further input from you. Please send that input in confidence to me at provost@uregina.ca no later than noon on Thursday 23 February.

Search timeline (dates and times are subject to change)

-- by Wednesday 15 March -- Search Advisory Committee (SAC) membership is in place

-- Friday 24 March from 9:00 am to 11:00 am -- First meeting of SAC: procedures; search requirements; text of position description finalized. The previous position description is available at https://www.uregina.ca/president/assets/docs/PVPA%20docs/Searches_Reviews/Dean%20of%20Education/Dean_of_Education_Position.pdf .

-- by Wednesday 5 April -- Position description and call for applications circulated nationally

-- Wednesday 13 September from 9:00 to 11:00 am -- SAC meets for initial review of applications

-- Wednesday 20 September from 9:00 to 11:00 am -- SAC meets for continuing review of applications

-- Wednesday 27 September from 9:00 to 11:00 am -- SAC meets to determine shortlist

-- Weeks of 16, 23, and 30 October -- Campus visits and interviews with shortlisted candidates

-- by Wednesday 15 November -- Selection of candidate and recommendation to President

-- by Wednesday 13 December -- Announcement of Dean (term to begin 1 July 2018)


Potential composition of Search Advisory Committee (SAC)

Your advice on the size and composition of this Committee is particularly sought. At 13 individuals, the current suggested composition is very large, and will present considerable difficulties for scheduling meetings and interviews.

5 elected faculty members (see below for details of election)

1 APT member

1 CUPE member selected by CUPE staff in the Faculty

1 undergraduate student selected by the undergraduate students of the Faculty

1 graduate student selected by the graduate students of the Faculty

1 member from the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation, appointed by STF

Executive Lead, Indigenization

1 Elder

Provost and Vice-President (Academic), Chair


Election of faculty members to the SAC

At the meeting on the 10th, colleagues requested that the election be handled by my office rather than, as in the past, the Dean's Office.

Nominations and self-nominations of faculty members in the Faculty of Education are therefore due in the Provost's Office by 12 noon on Monday 27 February 2017.

Should an election be required, it will be conducted by staff in the Provost's Office, with ballots due by 12 noon on Thursday 9 March 2017. Results will be announced to the Faculty of Education the next morning.


For information: university policy governing out-of-scope searches

Policy EMP-010-030 is available online at https://www.uregina.ca/policy/browse-policy/policy-EMP-010-030.html .

Please take the opportunity to familiarize yourself with the contents of the policy, among them the requirements for fairness, legality, transparency, confidentiality, and equity.

The Dean of Education position is classified as out-of-scope pay band 14, which ranges from $154,399 to $231,597. Placement within this range is governed by the provisions of Policy EMP-030-005, available online at https://www.uregina.ca/policy/browse-policy/policy-EMP-030-005.html .


I trust this information is useful to you, and captures our discussion on 10 February.

Again, I invite your input on these issues, and anything else associated with the search process. Please write to me no later than noon on Thursday the 23rd.

Sincerely,

Thomas Chase
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)