Phased return to in-person learning begins February 7. Learn More.

Dean of Engineering and Applied Science


Update 4

Monday December 6, 2021


The Search Advisory Committee (SAC) has finalized the appointment details document for the position of Dean of Engineering and Applied Science and it can be found on our search firm, Perrett Laver's webpge. This position is being posted and circulated nationally and internationally to a variety of recruitment venues by our search firm. Should you wish to send us names and contact information of possible candidates, please send that information to Bryanna Butz (bryanna.butz@uregina.ca) and we will reach out to those individuals directly.

The posting is set to close at 12:00 Noon Pacific Time, January 20, 2022. The review of applications will commence soon after the application closing date and a shortlist announced by early-March 2022. Campus visits and interviews are tentatively scheduled for March 2022.


Update 3

Monday November 8, 2021


With the endorsement of the Search Advisory Committee (SAC), the Engineering Advisory Board was approached for an external representative and Ms. Karen Gasmo, Director of Sustainable Infrastructure, City of Regina, has agreed to serve on the SAC. This addition completes the membership of our Committee.

We are pleased to announce that Perrett Laver has been awarded the contract to assist the University of Regina and the Engineering and Applied Science SAC in completing the Search for a new Dean.

Finally, the Search Advisory Committee has their first scheduled meeting on Tuesday November 9, 2021.

 


Update 2

September 29, 2021


The majority of the membership of the Search Advisory Committee has been determined as follows:

  • Academic staff members: Dr. Shahid Azam (EVSE), Dr. Hussameldin Ibrahim (ISE), Dr. Paul Laforge (ESE), Dr. Ezeddin Shirif (PSE), Dr. Kin-Choong Yow (SSE)
  • Lab Instructor: Mr. Adam Tilson
  • Undergraduate student: Mr. Jordan McLeod
  • Graduate student: Mr. Gokulakrishnan Ravikumar
  • APT member: Ms. Meigen Schmidt
  • CUPE member: Mr. Chris Yung
  • Engineering Advisory Board representative: Karen Gasmo (Director of Sustainable Infrastructure, City of Regina)
  • Deans Council member: Dr. Kathy McNutt (Vice-President (Research))
  • Chair: Dr. david Gregory (Interim Provost and Vice-President (Academic))

The Committee will be supported in its work by Ms. Bryanna Butz of the Provost's Office, Ms. Nancy Kazeil of Human Resources, and, for logistics support, staff in the Office of the Dean of Engineering and Applied Science.

As you are aware, we are seeking support from an Executive Search Agency and the Request For Proposal (RFP) closes October 6, 2021. The Search Agency will be chosen and announced shortly thereafter. My office will begin planning the first meeting of the SAC and the first order of business will be finalizing the position description.

A reminder that the search will be governed by University policy EMP-010-030 which includes additional important policies. My Office will be in regular communication with Engineering faculty, staff and students about the progress of this search, via this webpage.

Thank you for your commitment to this search process. If you have questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact Bryanna Butz (bryanna.butz@uregina.ca) or myself (provost@uregina.ca).


Update 1

September 10, 2021: Email to the Faculty of Enginering and Applied Science

Dear Faculty, Staff, and Students in the Faculty of Engineering:

As you will know, Dr. Esam Hussein has announced that he will
complete his term as Dean on June 30, 2022.

At a time nearer to this date I look forward to joining you in
thanking Esam for his tremendous leadership of the Faculty,
and indeed for his many years of service to the University
and the broader community as professor, researcher, and
colleague.

Thank you for meeting with me to review the search
process and the composition of the Search Advisory
Committee (SAC). I very much appreciated your advice
and the decision points reached. As I mentioned, the search
will be conducted according to University policy on out-of-scope
academic administrative appointments, which is available for consultation at
will be conducted with the support of a Search Firm.

As determined at the meeting, the composition of the Search Advisory Committee (SAC) will be as follows:
  • 5 academic staff members (one from each of the systems programs) elected or appointed by means determined by academic staff members.
  • 1 instructor (elected or appointed by means determined by the instructor group in the Faculty)
  • 1 undergraduate student (elected or selected)
  • 1 graduate student (elected or selected)
  • 1 APT member elected by the APT staff in the Faculty
  • 1 CUPE member elected by CUPE staff in the Faculty
  • 1 representative from APEGS (the Interim Provost will contact APEGS and request a representative)
  • 1 member of Deans Council, appointed by the Provost
I will chair the Committee, which will be supported by Bryanna Butz in my office and by Nancy Kazeil from Human Resources.


Tentative Search Timeline (Subject to Change)
  • By September 24: SAC in place
  • By October 15: Search Firm in place
  • By October 29: First meeting of the SAC held; position description finalized
  • By November 5: International advertising under way via search firm
  • By December 3: SAC begins review of applications, establishes a long list of candidates
  • By December 21: SAC establishes a short list of candidates
  • Weeks of January 17 and 24th: Interviews and campus visits (COVID permitting)
  • By February 18: SAC makes recommendation regarding preferred candidate, Provost makes recommendation to President, negotiations with preferred candidate commences
  • By March 7: Announcement of the New Dean
 
If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Bryanna Butz
in my Office at Bryanna.Butz@uregina.ca. We look forward to working
with you on the exciting task of recruiting the next Dean of the
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Regina.

Sincerely,

david Gregory
Interim Provost and Vice-President (Academic)