Nicholas Ruddick



Research interests

  • Science fiction novel-to-film adaptation
  • Darwinism and literature
  • Late 19th-century literature and culture
  • Fairy Tales

Degrees: BA Hons (London), MA PhD (McMaster)

Nicholas Ruddick has taught at the University of Regina since 1982. He currently teaches undergraduate courses on science fiction, fairy tales, and horror fiction, and graduate courses on science fiction novel-to-film adaptation and on Darwinism's influence on literature.

He is the author or editor of nine books. His monographs include Christopher Priest (Starmont, 1989); British Science Fiction: A Chronology 1478-1990 (Greenwood, 1993); Ultimate Island: On the Nature of British Science Fiction (Greenwood, 1993); and The Fire in the Stone: Prehistoric Fiction from Charles Darwin to Jean M. Auel (Wesleyan UP, 2009).  He is the editior of the critical anthology State of the Fantastic (Greenwood, 1992), and has published scholarly editions of The Time Machine by H.G. Wells (Broadview, 2011), Ceasar's Column by Ignatius Donnelly (Wesleyan UP, 2003), The Woman Who Did by Grant Allen (Broadview, 2004), and The Call of the Wild by Jack London (Broadview, 2009).

He has published book chapters and articles on a wide variety of North American, British, and European nineteenth- and twentieth-century authors from Atwood to Zola, as well as dozens of reviews.  He is currently writing a book tentatively entitled Science Fiction Adapted to Film: Attack of the Mutant Parasites.  For a list of Nicholas Ruddick's main publications and current writing projects please click here.

Nicholas Ruddick served as Science Fiction Division Head of the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts (IAFA) from 1988-92 and then as Vice-President of IAFA from 1992-95.  He was appointed Univeristy of Regina President's Scholar from 2002-04.  He served as Director of the Humanities Research Institute at the University of Regina from 2003-08.  He has served as Head of the Department of English at the University of Regina from 2011-2014.