Faculty

Jesse Archibald-Barber

Associate Professor (First Nations University of Canada)

Office: SI 1535
E-mail: jbarber@firstnationsuniversity.ca
Phone: 790-5950 ext. 3155

Research interests

Degrees: BA(Victoria), MA, PhD (Toronto)

Presently, he teaches Indigenous literatures at the First Nations University of Canada, offering courses on Canadian Indigenous fiction, poetry, and drama.

 

Jes Battis

Assistant Professor

Office: AH 366
E-mail: Jes.Battis@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5616

Noel Chevalier

Associate Professor (Luther College)

Office: LC 221
E-mail: noel.chevalier@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4852
Fax: 306-585-2949
Website: http://www.luthercollege.edu/university/noelchevalier

Chris Bundock

Assistant Professor
BA Victoria (English), MA Western (Theory & Criticism), MA Western (English), PhD Western (English).

Office: AH 323
E-mail: Chris.Bundock@uregina.ca.
Phone: 306-585-4302

Research interests
Aesthetics; British Romanticism, especially Baillie, Blake, Wollstonecraft, Wordsworth, and the Shelleys; corporeality, affect, and sensation in literary and scientific media; Enlightenment philosophy, especially Hume and Kant; German Idealism and phenomenology; Gothic literature; historiography; poetry and poetics.

Marcel DeCoste

Professor, Head of English
BA (Toronto), MA (York), PhD (McGill)

Office: AH 312
E-mail: Marcel.Decoste@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4691
Fax: 306-585-5429

Research interests
20th-century British and American literature, particularly: modernist fiction and poetry, literature of the World Wars, mid-century British fiction, the fiction of Evelyn Waugh and Flannery O’Connor.

Troni Grande

Associate Professor

Office: AH 353
E-mail: troni.grande@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4570
Fax: 306-585-5429

Research interests
Early-modern drama, 18th-century drama, literary theory (especially feminism), genre studies, editing.

Jean Hillabold

Instructor III
Degrees: BA Hons, MA (Regina)

Office: AH 369
E-mail: Jean.Hillabold@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4669
Fax: 306-585-5429

Research interests
Jean Hillabold’s main interests are writing by women, particularly lesbians and African-Americans, and erotica. She has written a research article on the politics of smoking in lesbian social space (Girlfriends, 2002). Two of her articles, “Lesbian Publishing” (1988) and “Tribal Consciousness Reborn” (1989) appeared in Lesbian and Gay Studies Newsletter (Modern Languages Association). She has given an informal academic talk on the history and status of erotica (Department of English, 2001), and has written reviews of erotica for various websites and newsletters. Her erotic fiction has been widely published since 1999. Her fiction (erotic and otherwise) has won various awards

Susan Johnston

Associate Professor
BA (McGill), MA (Hull), PhD (McGill)

Office: AH 322
E-mail: Susan.Johnston@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4672
Fax: 306-585-5429

Research interests

19th century British literature and culture; literary historiography; nationhood and nationalism; masculinities; theological criticism; film and television adaptation; popular culture, particularly fantasy literature, Harry Potter studies, and George R.R. Martin (A Song of Ice and Fire/Game of Thrones). 

Dorothy Lane

Professor (Luther College)

Office: LC 227
E-mail: dorothy.lane@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5217
Website: https://www.luthercollege.edu/university/academics/faculty-profiles/dorothy-lane

Research interests
Postcolonial literature and theory, Canadian literature, children's literature

Alex MacDonald

Associate Professor (Campion College)

Office: CM 3221
E-mail: Alex.MacDonald@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1223
Fax: 306-359-1200
Website: http://campioncollege.ca/contact-us/faculty-listing/dr-alex-macdonald

Research interests
Utopian literature, thought and experiment, 19th century literature, Saskatchewan history, ideas of the university

Cindy Mackenzie

Associate Professor
B.A., B.E.A.D. (French); B.A. Honours (English), M.A. U of R; Ph.D. University of Colorado at Boulder

Office: AH 357
E-mail: Cindy.MacKenzie@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4571
Fax: 306-585-5429

Research interests
19th-century American poet Emily Dickinson, contemporary American women poets, poetics, editing

Craig Melhoff

Assistant Professor
Currently on Education leave

Office: AH 320
E-mail: craig.melhoff@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4432

Research interests

Dystopian fiction: the study of literary conceptions of the dystopia or “bad place,” and representations of chaos, decay, and disorder in literature; exploring the ways in which such representations serve as criticisms of the contemporary world and its ideals, anxieties, and values.

Urban fiction: examining the relationship between literature and the modern city, and in particular how urban settings, as sites of ambiguity, confusion, and the chaos of modernity (the frenzy of the marketplace, the ascendancy of industrial technology, and the anonymising effect of the individual’s absorption in the urban crowd), are central to our understanding and representation of the modern human experience.

Anglo-American literature of the twentieth century, with particular emphasis on high-modernist writers of the 1920s (James Joyce and T. S. Eliot) and contemporary British fiction, in particular the works of Martin Amis and Salman Rushdie.  

      Urban fiction: the relationship between literature and the modern city; urban settings as sites of ambiguity, conflict and confusion; nineteenth- and twentieth-century developments in sanitation, infrastructure and social geography in London and Paris, and their representations in literature.   Contemporary British fiction, in particular the works of Martin Amis and Salman Rushdie.

Bev Montague

Instructor III

Office: AH 367
E-mail: Bev.Montague@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4790
Fax: 306-585-5429

Research interests
Contemporary British and Irish fiction, Irish film and theatre, British crime fiction

Medrie Purdham

Assistant Professor

Office: AH 315
E-mail: Medrie.Purdham@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4307
Fax: 306-585-5429

Research interests
Prosody, creative writing, modern to postmodern Canadian poetry and fiction, 20th-century drama

Jan Purnis

Assistant Professor
Campion College

Office: CM 402
E-mail: jan.purnis@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1261
Fax: 306-359-1200
Website: http://campioncollege.ca/contact-us/faculty-listing/dr-jan-purnis

Research interests
Cannibalism; Digestion; Early Modern Emotions; Body/Mind Relationship; Colonialism; Gender; Early Modern Medicine; Wordplay; Shrews; Sugar

Christian Riegel

Professor (Campion College)
B.A. Hons., Bishop's, M.A., Acadia, Ph.D., University of Alberta

Office: CM 505
E-mail: Christian.Riegel@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1219
Fax: 306-359-1200

Research interests
Mourning and literature, Canadian Literature, contemporary poetry, Holocaust Studies, cognition, literary language, and media, and creative writing.

Melanie Schnell

Sessional Lecturer III

Office: AH 354
E-mail: melanie.schnell@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4864
Fax: 306-585-5429

Garry Sherbert

Associate Professor

Office: AH 360
E-mail: Garry.Sherbert@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4966
Fax: 306-585-5429

Research interests
Culture, literary theory, especially Jacques Derrida and Northrop Frye, 16th-century non-dramatic literature, 18th-century and Romantic literature, Menippean satire

Michael Trussler

Professor

Office: AH 314
E-mail: Michael.Trussler@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4315
Fax: 306-585-5429

Lynn Wells

Professor
Vice-President Academic, First Nations University of Canada

Office: FNUC
E-mail: Lynn.Wells@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-790-5950 ext. 2305

Research interests
Contemporary British fiction, contemporary culture, urban fiction, ethics and literature

Staff

Danielle Myers

Adminstrative Assistant

Office: AH 313
E-mail: danielle.myers@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4310
Fax: 306-585-5429