Notice: Important information about COVID-19 here.

COVID-19 and Research

The University has designed a four-phase back to research plan that will start on May 4th. The plan focuses on three core areas of research, including lab/studio work, field research, and research involving contact with human participants. The phased approach to returning to research activities will be closely monitored in relation to the Government of Saskatchewan’s future COVID-19 public announcements, and dates will be adjusted accordingly. Phase 1 of the re-opening of research labs will begin with a period of implementation during the next week. Phase one red is highly restrictive and aligns with phases one and two of the provincial five-stage plan for reopening the economy. During this phase, only labs and studios located in the RIC, Research Park, and the basement of the Riddell building will be open. 

Applications for risk assessment

Please fill out the Research Risk Assessment in Support of Research Continuity Form and submit to the Research Office (Research.Office@uregina.ca). If the request is for student research, their supervisor should complete the form and submit on the student’s behalf. Researchers should also complete a schedule indicating when research personnel are in the lab. The following template can be used. (Sample Schedule Spreadsheet) File

The Research Office will distribute the form to the Research Risk Assessment Committee and the Dean, and will do a compliance review of the project. A final decision on whether the project can proceed will come from the Vice-President (Research).

The Committee will deliberate and provide a recommendation to the Dean. The recommendation could
include any conditions and/or protective measures to be followed. Faculty members are advised to follow the
Research Safety COVID 19 Guidelines. Public Acknowledgement of Research Support Fund

 FAQ's for Researchers and Graduate Students 

COVID-19 Resources Canada

Risk Assessment Committee meetings and deadlines: 

Deadline for Submission Committee Meeting
Monday, May 11, 2020  Thursday May, 14, 2020
Friday May 15, 2020 Wednesday May 20,2020
Monday May 25, 2020 Wednesday May 27, 2020
Monday June 1, 2020 Thursday June 4, 2020
Monday June 8, 2020 Thursday June 11, 2020
Monday June 15, 2020 Thursday June 18, 2020
Monday June 22, 2020 Friday June 26, 2020