Welcome back! Find out about COVID-19, vaccinations, and returning to campus in Fall 2021. Learn more.

COVID-19 and Research

File

The University has designed a four-phase back to research plan that started on May 4th. The plan focuses on three core areas of research, including lab/studio work, field research, and research involving contact with human participants. The phased approach to returning to research activities will be closely monitored in relation to the Government of Saskatchewan’s future COVID-19 public announcements, and dates will be adjusted accordingly.

Effective May 12, the University of Regina research enterprise will return to Phase 2 Orange from Phase 1 Red while maintaining access to active research spaces as detailed in the Return to Research Plan. 

All activities within the three core areas of research (lab/studio work, field research, and research involving contact with human participants) require the approval of the Vice-President (Research) before proceeding. Please note that the form is not necessary for any work which can be done remotely, with no data collection or analysis in person or in the field.

Email research.risk@uregina.ca with inquiries.

Return to Research Plan

Return to Research Plan (UPDATE July 7, 2021)

Addendum to Phase 2 (Orange) effective May 25, 2021

Two satisfaction surveys have been issued in July and November of 2020.  A report comparing the most important results is available below:

Return to Research Plan Summary Report.

Applications for risk assessment

A new email has been established to track risk assessments more easily. Please use research.risk@uregina.ca for submission of forms and all enquiries. Complete the Research Risk Assessment in Support of Research Continuity Form (UPDATE) and submit to the Research Office (Research.Risk@uregina.ca). Forms from Engineering should be sent to Lauren.Bradshaw@uregina.ca. If the request is for student research, their supervisor should complete the form and submit on the student’s behalf. Researchers should also complete a schedule indicating when research personnel are in the lab. The following template can be used. (Sample Schedule Spreadsheet) File

Amendments

If your project was previously approved, but you want to add students, add/change locations, or amend the original time frame, please use the Amendment Form. Completed forms should be sent to Research.Risk@uregina.ca for review, with the exception of applications from faculty in Engineering and Applied Sciences. Forms from Engineering should be sent to Lauren.Bradshaw@uregina.ca.

Helpful tips for your submission

The Research Office will distribute the form to the Research Risk Assessment Committee and the Dean, and will do a compliance review of the project. A final decision on whether the project can proceed will come from the Vice-President (Research).

The Committee will deliberate and provide a recommendation to the Dean. The recommendation could
include any conditions and/or protective measures to be followed. Faculty members are advised to follow the
Research Safety COVID 19 Guidelines

Students should consider whether taking part in the proposed research activity exposes them to an acceptable level of risk for their personal circumstances. All students who agree to participate need to sign the Research Personnel Acknowledgment Form and provide a copy to their supervisor.

FAQ's for Researchers and Graduate Students

Canada Research Continuity Emergency Funds at the University of Regina

COVID-19 Resources Canada

Risk Assessment Committee meetings and deadlines: 

Deadline for Submission Committee Meeting Expected Decision
 Monday, May 10, 2021 Thursday, May 13, 2021 May 27, 2021
Monday, May 17, 2021 Thursday, May 20, 2021 June 3, 2021
Monday, May 24, 2021 Thursday, May 27, 2021 June 10, 2021
Monday, May 31, 2021 Thursday, June 3, 2021 June 17, 2021
Monday, June 7, 2021 Thursday, June 10, 2021 June 24, 2021
Monday, June 14, 2021 Thursday, June 17, 2021 July 2, 2021
Monday June 21, 2021 Thursday, June 24, 2021 July 8, 2021
Monday June 28, 2021 Friday, July 2, 2021 July 15, 2021
Monday July 5, 2021 Thursday, July 8, 2021 July 22, 2021
Monday July 12, 2021 Thursday, July 15, 2021 July 29, 2021
Monday July 19, 2021 Thursday, July 22, 2021 August 5, 2021