The Department of Physics at the University of Regina offers programs leading to the B.Sc. and B.Sc. Honours degrees in Pure and Applied Physics, and the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in Experimental and Theoretical Subatomic Physics. Co-operative Education programs with local industry play an important role in our undergraduate degree programs.

Faculty members and graduate students pursue their research locally, and at locations elsewhere in Canada, the United States, Europe and Japan.

The department is an associate member of the TRIUMF subatomic physics laboratory in Vancouver, and has a close relationship with the Jefferson Laboratory in Newport News, Virginia, USA.

UR logo SURA logo

As of January 1, 2010, our University became a standard (full) member of the Southeastern Universities Research Association and its first international member. The event received wide coverage within our university and in the Regina local press. This honour was in recognition of two decades of productive research by U of R physicists at Jefferson Lab.