Submit your vaccination declaration and review vaccination requirements for returning to campus in Fall 2021. Learn more.

Water, Environment & Clean Energy

The focus of this cluster is identifying the most serious threats to environments in semi-arid regions in Saskatchewan and elsewhere, providing information to decision makers on how to alleviate negative impacts of climate, land-use and pollution on hydrology, water quality and food-web integrity, and developing adaptive management strategies and policies for the impacts of anticipated climate change, population growth and increased development of natural resources. Researchers in this cluster evaluate the impacts of natural and anthropogenic effects on grassland, forest and aquatic habitats, develop environmental low carbon technologies to mitigate carbon dioxide emissions associated with climate change, and study other aspects of clean energy such as smart grids, intelligent transportation systems, and lean and agile manufacturing.  

Water, Environment & Clean Energy Research Cluster Brochure.

Researchers

Name

Position

College/Faculty/

Department

Research interests/Keywords

Contact

Information

Arbuthnott,

Katherine

Professor

Department of Psychology, 
Campion College

Pro-environmental behaviour (PEB) including personal characteristics and values (e.g., nature connection, place attachment) and situational influences (e.g., natural history museums, outdoor scenes).

Katherine.

Arbuthnott@uregina.ca

Azam, Shahid

Professor Environmental Systems Engineering, Faculty of Engineering Flow through porous media with applications in civil infrastructure, mining wastes, and clean energy

Shahid.

Azam@uregina.ca

Brigham, Mark

Professor Department of Biology,
Faculty of Science
Zoology, behaviour, bats, energetics

Mark.

Brigham@uregina.ca

Chi, Guoxiang

Professor Department of Geology,
Faculty of Science
Fluid geochemistry & hydrodynamics ,metallic mineralization,hydrocarbon accumulation, fluid-inclusion, stable isotope, and numerical modeling techniques.

Guoxiang.
Chi@uregina.ca

Dahms, Tanya

Professor Department of Chemistry
and Biochemistry,
Faculty of Science
Cellular Response to Xenobiotics, Physical Biochemistry, Microscopy, Microbiology

Tanya.
Dahms@uregina.ca

Assistant Professor
Department of Economics, Faculty of Arts
Climate change policy, energy-environment-economy modelling

Brett.
Dolter@uregina.ca

East, Allan

Professor Department of Chemistry
and Biochemistry,
Faculty of Science
Petroleum refining, chemical mechanisms, alternative catalysts, electrolyte conductivity

Allan.

East@uregina.ca

Eaton, Emily

Associate Professor Department of Geography
and Environmental Studies, Faculty of Arts
Natural resource economies, agriculture, oil, political economy and ecology

Emily.

Eaton@uregina.ca

Finlay, Kerri

Assistant Professor Department of Biology,
Faculty of Science
Water quality, Carbon Biogeochemistry, Urea fertilization in lakes

Kerri.

Finlay@uregina.ca
Fletcher, Amber Assistant Professor Department of Sociology
and Social Studies,
Faculty of Arts
Social impacts of climate change; gender and climate change; gender and water

Amber.

Fletcher@uregina.ca
Gacek, James Assistant Professor
Justice Studies
Incarceration; genocidal carcerality; critical issues in media, justice, and security studies; the exploitation of human-animal relations; sex work, indecency and obscenity jurisprudence; and the broader politics of judicial reasoning.

James.
Gacek@uregina.ca

Associate Professor
Department of Economics, Faculty of Arts

Energy efficiency; Valuation of a clean energy project; Estimation of marginal abatement costs for CO2 emissions (a shadow cost approach); and Economic effects of greening Saskatchewan’s Electricity Generation

 

Hall, Britt

Associate Professor Department of Biology,
Faculty of Science
Mercury, contaminants, aquatic systems

Britt.

Hall@uregina.ca

Henni, Amr

Associate Dean (Research & Graduate Studies),
Professor
Industrial and Process
Systems Engineering,
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Acid gas removal from natural and flue gases, Calorimetry Mass transfer with chemical reactions, Solubility of gases in liquids, Vapor-liquid-equilibria and PVT studies, Pressure swing and temperature swing adsorptions, Physical and transport properties measurements, Process plant simulation, Renewable energy (wind and solar), Water desalination, Biotechnology (proteins and cells), Polymer Engineering (thermodynamics and heat transfer), Chemical education

Amr.
Henni@uregina.ca

Huang, Gordon

Professor Environmental Systems Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science Water resources and environmental systems engineering, simulation of hydrological and environmental systems, planning of energy and environmental management systems

Gordon.
Huang@uregina.ca

Hulbert,

Margot
Associate Professor Department of
Justice Studies,
Faculty of Arts
Climate change and energy policy; water governance; water, energy and food nexus

Margot.
Hulbert@uregina.ca

Ibrahim, Hussameldin Associate Professor Industrial and Process
Systems Engineering,
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Biofuels and biochemicals production from agricultural residues, biomass conversion and utilization, synthesis gas production and hydrogen purification, heterogeneous catalysis and reaction kinetics, solid sorbents and catalytic methods for CO2 capture and utilization, conceptual design, economic evaluation, feasibility studies, and project planning and management.

Hussameldin.
Ibrahim@uregina.ca

Idem, Raphael Director,
Clean Energy Technologies Institute
(CETI)
Industrial and Process
Systems Engineering,
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Greenhouse Gas Emissions Mitigation; Carbon Dioxide Capture from Flue Gases from Industrial Sources; Reformer Technology/Fuel Processing for Fuel Cell Application/Hydrogen Energy; Reaction Kinetics, Reaction Mechanisms, and Heterogeneous Catalyst Development; Fossil and Bio-fuels Processing

Raphael.
Idem@uregina.ca

Kulczycki, Cory Assistant Professor Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies Place meaning, outdoor recreation, sport tourism

Cory.

Kulczycki@uregina.ca
Leavitt, Peter

Professor, Director, Canadian Institute of Ecology and Evolution and Institute of Environmental Change and Society

Department of Biology,
Faculty of Science
Landscape Effects of Nitrogen on Lake

Peter.

Leavitt@uregina.ca
Ng, Kelvin Associate Professor Faculty of Engineering Sustainable solid waste management, disposal site design and operation, reuse of waste materials Kelvin.
Ng@uregina.ca
Pickard, Garth Professor
Emeritus
Faculty of Education Sustainable Development, Interdisciplinary, Place Based; and Experiential.

Garth.

Pickard@uregina.ca

Piwowar, Joe

Associate Professor,
Associate Dean (Undergraduate)
Department of Geography
and Environmental Studies,
Faculty of Arts
Climate impacts, grasslands, remote sensing, temporal image analysis

Joe.

Piwowar@uregina.ca

Sadaoui, Samira

Professor Department of Computer Science, Faculty of Science Online electricity auctions, integration services, renewable energy,
variable energy, smart power grid
sadaouis@cs.uregina.ca

Sardarli,Arzu

Associate Professor Department of Mathematics
and Statistics,
Faculty of Science
Applied mathematics, semiconductor physics asardarli@fnuniv.ca
Simpson, Gavin Quantitative Environmental Scientist Institute of Environmental Change and Society
Department of Biology,
Faculty of Science
Freshwater ecology, Limnology, Palaeoecology, Palaeolimnology,
Statistical Ecology

Gavin.

Simpson@uregina.ca

Vanderwel,

Mark
Assistant
Professor
Department of Biology,
Faculty of Science
Tree demography, forest dynamics, global change

Mark.

Vanderwel@uregina.ca

Velez, Maria

Associate Professor Department of Geology,
Faculty of Science
Diatom and sediment analyses, paleolimnological and paleoenvironmental reconstructions, Holocene climate variability

Maria.

Velez@uregina.ca

Wee,

Andrew
Professor Department of Chemistry
and Biochemistry,
Faculty of Science
Organic synthesis, molecular design, green chemistry

Andrew.

Wee@uregina.ca

Wissel, Bjoern

Associate Director of IECS (Institute of Environmental Change and Society) Department of Biology,
Faculty of Science
Aquatic Ecology,Stable Isotope

Bjoern.
Wissel@uregina.ca

Xue, Jinkai

Assistant Professor Environmental Systems Engineering,
Faculty of Engineering
Sustainable water and wastewater treatment; membrane technology; biological treatment; membrane bioreactors; removal of microplastics from water and wastewater.

Jinkai.
Xue@uregina.ca

Young, Stephanie

Professor Environmental Systems Engineering,
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Hybrid membrane bioreactor, membrane bioreactor, dissolved air flotation, biofilm, biomass, microorganism, activated sludge, greywater, wastewater, restaurant dishwasher effluent,  effluent from amine CO2 capture process, toilet flushing, and irrigation

Stephanie.
Young@uregina.ca

Zapata, Oscar

Assistant Professor Economics Environmental and resource economics, behavioral and experimental economics, development economics, and applied econometrics, with specific emphasis in the economics of water and climate change.

Oscar.
Zapata@uregina.ca