Anxiety, Stress & Pain

Pain, anxiety, depression and stress can be understood as being part of a vicious, self-perpetuating cycle. Understanding, evaluating and managing this cycle is the focus of this cluster.

Researchers are tackling complex and costly human problems related to anxiety, stress and pain, their clinical evaluation, manifestation, causal factors and their management, with the goal of improving functional ability and quality of life for millions of people.

Anxiety, Stress and Pain Research Cluster Brochure.

Researchers

Name

Position

College/Faculty/Department

Research interests/Keywords

Contact

Information

Asmundson, Gordon
Professor
Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts Anxiety disorders, pain-related anxiety, chronic pain, health anxiety and post-traumatic stress disorder Gordon.Asmundson@uregina.ca
Carleton, Nicholas Associate Professor Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts Anxiety Disorders, Chronic Pain, Traumatic Stress, Attentional Biases, Fundamental Cognitions, Psychometrics and Statistics. Transdiagnostics Nick.Carleton@uregina.ca
Clune, Laurie Associate Professor Faculty of Nursing Health care professional’s health, home health care, injury management, the effects of shift work, health systems Laurie.Clune@uregina.ca
Beshai, Shadi Assistant Professor Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts Depression, anxiety, stress, cross-cultural psychopathology, cognitive therapy, mindfulness, socio-emotional comparisons Shadi.Beshai@uregina.ca
Fletcher, Amber Assistant Professor Department of Sociology and Social Studies, Faculty of Arts Sociology of gender, gender and climate change, gender and public policy, agricultural and trade policy; gender and water, qualitative research methodology; participatory action research, critical realism, feminist theories, sociology of the family, leadership studies Amber.Fletcher@uregina.ca
Fletcher, Kara Assistant Professor Faculty of Social Work Addictions and self-medication, attachment and trauma, mental health, couple and family therapy, and knowledge translation Kara.Fletcher@uregina.ca
Gordon, Jennifer Assistant Professor Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts Mood and wellbeing across the female lifespan, adolescence, menopause transition, reproductive hormones Jennifer.Gordon@uregina.ca
Hadjistavropoulous, Heather Professor Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts Anxiety, depression, health anxiety, chronic pain, adjustment to illness, cognitive behaviour therapy, online therapy, clinical supervision and training

Heather.

Hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca

Hadjistavropoulous, Thomas

Research Chair in Aging and Health,Professor

Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts Health Psychology, Pain, Aging, Fear and Anxiety in Older Persons, Professional Ethics and Standards, Clinical Psychology

Thomas.

Hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca

Klest, Bridget Associate Professor Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts Social context factors (such as economic status, gender, ethnicity, and social support), healthcare experiences, health, traumatic stress Bridget.Klest@uregina.ca
Loutzenhiser, Lynn Director of Clinical Training, Associate Professor Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts Mothering, Fathering, Infant sleep, Parental Fatigue Lynn.Loutzenheiser@uregina.ca
Mishra, Sandeep Assistant Professor Faculty of Business Administration Individual differences; inequality and relative deprivation, mental health and well-being, socioeconomic determinants, stress Sandeep.Mishra@uregina.ca
Sevigny, Phillip Assistant Professor Luther College Changing roles of men in families, Positive father involvement, Professional Ethics, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, Neurodevelopmental Disorders Phillip.Sevigny@uregina.ca
Urban, Ann-Marie Associate Professor Faculty of Nursing Factors influencing nurses and their work, image of nurses and nurses’ health Ann-Marie.Urban@uregina.ca
Wickson-Griffiths, Abigail Assistant Professor Faculty of Nursing Long-term care, dementia care, palliative and end-of-life care, advanced practice nursing Abigail.Wickson-Griffiths@uregina.ca
Wright, Kristi Associate Professor Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts Childhood psychopathology ,Health anxiety, preoperative anxiety Kristi.Wright@uregina.ca