Returning to campus: Information, updates and vaccination requirements. Learn more.

Faculty

Monika Çule

Department Head, Associate Professor
PhD (University of Saskatchewan)

Office: CL 242
E-mail: Monika.Cule@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4708

Research interests

  • Economics of Corruption
  • Tax Evasion
  • New Institutional Economics
  • Political Economy

Jason Childs

Associate Professor
PhD (McMaster University); MA (McMaster University); BA (Hons) (Mount Allison University)

Office: CL 238
E-mail: jason.childs@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4182

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 201 (Introductory Microeconomics), ECON 202 (Introductory Macroeconomics), ECON 901 (Thesis Research)

Research interests

  • Experimental Economics
  • Human Behaviour and Choice
  • Alcohol and Cannabis Policy
  • Economic Policy

Brett Dolter

Assistant Professor
PhD (York University)

Office: CL 235
E-mail: brett.dolter@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 337-2923

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 351 (Cost Benefit Analysis), ECON 480 (Capstone Seminar in Economics)

Research interests
Climate change policy; ecological economics; environmental economics; public policy

Carmen Dybwad

Lecturer
PhD (University of Waterloo)

Office: CL 248
E-mail: carmen.dybwad@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-5258

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 100 (Intro to Economic Issues)

Viktoriya Galushko

Associate Professor
PhD (University of Saskatchewan)

Office: CL 244
E-mail: viktoriya.galushko@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4191

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 201 (Introductory Microeconomics), ECON 401 (Advanced Microeconomic Theory)

Research interests

  • Intellectual Property Rights in Agriculture
  • Economics of Innovation
  • Returns to Agricultural R&D
  • International Trade Policy
  • Agricultural Trade Policy
  • Consumer behaviour

Samuel Gamtessa

Associate Professor
PhD (University of Alberta)

Office: CL 243
E-mail: samuel.gamtessa@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4042

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 273 (Environmental Economics), ECON 402 (Advanced Macroeconomic Theory)

Research interests

  • Climate Change Mitigation Policies and Models
  • Energy Efficiency
  • Natural Resource Economics
  • Technical Changes
  • Efficiency
  • Productivity and Economic Growth
  • Micro-Econometrics

Harminder Guliani

Associate Professor; Undergraduate/Graduate Program Coordinator
PhD (University of Manitoba)

Office: CL 252
E-mail: Harminder.Guliani@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4442

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 211 (Development Economics), ECON 353 (Health Economics)

Research interests

  • Health Economics
  • Development Economics
  • Applied Microeconomics

George Hartner

Lecturer
MSc (Florida Atlantic University)

Office: CL 239
E-mail: George.Hartner@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4463

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 202 (Introductory Macroeconomics), ECON 280 (Writing for Economists), ECON 302 (Intermediate Macroeconomics I), ECON 354 (Economics of Cities)

Research interests

  • Corporate Finance
  • Monetary Economics
  • Economic Evaluation
  • Applied Policy Analysis

Harvey King

Associate Professor
Ph.D. (University of Western Ontario); M.A. (University of Western Ontario); B.A. (University of Alberta)

E-mail: Harvey.King@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 999-0290

Research interests

  • Educational Production Functions
  • Economic Contributions of Continuing Education

Omid Mirzaei

Assistant Professor
PhD (University of Saskatchewan)

Office: CL 250
E-mail: omid.mirzaei@uregina.ca

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 224 (Empirical Economics)

Research interests

  • Regional Economics
  • Spatial Externalities
  • Economics of Indigenous Peoples

Safoura Moeeni

Assistant Professor
PhD (University of Calgary)

Office: CL 258
E-mail: safoura.moeeni@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4946
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/safouramoeeni

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 301 (Intermediate Microeconomics I)

Research interests

  • Labor Economics
  • Economics of the Family
  • Economic Development
  • Empirical Microeconomics

Noha Razek

Assistant Professor
PhD (University of Alberta)

Office: CL 246
E-mail: noha.razek@uregina.ca
Website: https://www.linkedin.com/in/noha-h-a-razek-phd-24777825/

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 310 (Intermediate Macroeconomics II), ECON 322 (Mathematical Economics)

Research interests

  • International Finance
  • Energy Economics
  • International Energy Policy
  • Energy and the Economy

Stuart Wilson

Associate Professor, Department of Economics; Research Fellow, Collaborative Centre for Justice and Safety; Head, Department of Justice Studies
PhD (Queen's University)

Office: CL 254
E-mail: Stuart.Wilson@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 337-2230

Research interests

  • Demographic Change and Public Policy
  • Crime, Corrections and Public Safety
  • Savings, Investment, and Economic Growth.

Sessionals

Abayomi Akintola

Sessional Lecturer III
MA (University of Regina)

Office: CL 240
E-mail: abayomi.akintola@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4485

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 201 (Introductory Microeconomics)

Research interests

  • Labour Economics
  • Information Economics
  • Industrial Organization

Shaun Augustin

Sessional Lecturer III
MA (University of Regina); CPA; CMA

Office: CL 240
E-mail: shaun.augustin@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 787-3965

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 201 (Introductory Microeconomics)

Research interests

  • Sports economics
  • Labour economics
  • Macroeconomics
  • Public policy

Krisztina Gurzo

Sessional Lecturer I
MA, University of Regina

Office: CL 240
E-mail: krisztina.gurzo@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4485

Perry Martens

Sessional Lecturer II
BEd (University of Regina)

Office: CL 240
E-mail: Perry.Martens@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4485

Current classes
Fall 2021 - Econ 100 (Intro to Economic Issues)

Donald Stevens

Sessional Lecturer II
MBA (Schulich School of Business, York University)

Office: CL 241
E-mail: donald.stevens@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4485

Current classes
Fall 2021 - ECON 234 (Monetary and Financial Crises)

Ron Styles

Sessional Lecturer II

Office: CL 240
E-mail: ron.styles@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4485

Fazal Dar

Emeritus - Instructor III
M. Admin, University of Regina

Office: CL 237
E-mail: Fazal.Dar@uregina.ca

Richard Kleer

Professor Emeritus
PhD (University of Toronto)

E-mail: richard.kleer@uregina.ca

Research interests
Money; Banking; Public Finance; Financial Crises

John T. Wright

Lecturer Emeritus

Research interests
Public Finance and Policy

John "Jack" Alexander Boan

In loving memory of our dear friend
December 16 1917 - October 31 2018

Staff

Kim Henkel

Administrative Assistant

Office: CL 241
E-mail: kimberley.henkel@uregina.ca
Phone: 585-4485