Phased return to in-person learning begins February 7. Learn More.

Health, Safety and Wellness



Due to the accelerating spread of the highly transmissible COVID-19 Omicron variant in Saskatchewan and Canada, the University of Regina has implemented a two-week pause to its planned return to primarily in-person instruction and work for the beginning of the Winter 2022 term.  Please visit the UofR website here for more information.

The Health, Safety & Wellness team continues to be committed to the safety and mental health and wellness of our faculty, staff, and students and will remain our top priority.   Our COVID-19 Resources page provides information on illness reporting for faculty, staff, and students, Rapid Antigent test kits, as well as the COVID-19 Illness Flowchart for assistance if you are experiencing symptoms on and off campus.

Our Healthy Workplace Advisor, Kelsey Malakoff, provides assistance in a number of areas such as medical leaves and accommodations, healthy lifestyle initiatives, and ergonomic assessments for work stations.

Online safety training is available in our Safety Training section.  Please refer to each online course that requires a hands-on workshop for more information.

If you have any questions, contact us at (306) 337-2370 or email us at health.safety@uregina.ca

TEAM DIRECTORY

Darren Cherwaty darren.cherwaty@uregina.ca Director 306-585-4776
Arden Geiger arden.geiger@uregina.ca Administrative Assistant 306-337-2370
Doug Schmidt douglas.schmidt@uregina.ca
Health, Safety & Emergency Management Advisor
306-585-5487
Kelsey Malakoff hwa@uregina.ca Healthy Workplace Advisor 306-337-3269
Kerry Cooper kerry.cooper@uregina.ca Industrial Safety Advisor 306-337-2626
Laura Sanftleben laura.sanftleben@uregina.ca Biological Safety Advisor 306-585-5198
Rob McCaffrey rob.mccaffrey@uregina.ca Mental Health Advisor 306-585-5248
Ryan King ryan.king@uregina.ca Chemical & Lab Safety Advisor 306-337-3245
Sarah Wilke sarah.wilke@uregina.ca Chemical & Lab Safety/Radiation Safety Officer 306-337-3184
Tianna Young On Leave