Faculty and Academic Staff

Shaun Fallat

Professor
Department Head

Office: CW 307.2
E-mail: mathstat.head@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4148
Website: http://uregina.ca/~sfallat/

Current classes
Math 426/826 Combinatorial Matrix Theory

Research interests
Matrix theory, discrete mathematics, graph theory, combinatorial matrix analysis

Martín Argerami

Professor

Office: CW307.11
E-mail: martin.argerami@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4340
Website: http://ev03023.math.uregina.ca/

Current classes
Math 213 Vector Calculus

Research interests
Operator algebras, operator systems, type II factors

Taehan Bae

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.4
E-mail: taehan.bae@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4353
Website: http://uregina.ca/~bae204/

Current classes
On Sabbatical

Research interests
Actuarial science, risk management, mathematical finance

Sarah Carnochan Naqvi

Laboratory Instructor

Office: CW 307.29
E-mail: Sarah.Carnochan.Naqvi@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2338
Website: http://uregina.ca/~carnocha

Current classes
Math 329 Linear and Discrete Optimization, Stat 300 Statistical Learning and Predictive Modeling, Stat 357 Sampling Theory

Dianliang Deng

Professor

Office: CW 307.22
E-mail: DianLiang.Deng@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4344
Website: http://uregina.ca/~deng/

Current classes
Stat 252 Introduction to Statistical Inference, Stat 426/826 Survival Analysis

Research interests
Statistical analysis of discrete data, survival data, longitudinal data and functional data, and limit theorems in probability

Peter Douglas

Instructor III
Accreditation Actuary; Internship Coordinator; Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries; Fellow of the Society of Actuaries

Office: CW 307.24
E-mail: peter.douglas@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4346
Website: http://uregina.ca/~douglas/

Current classes
Acsc 217 Introduction to Actuarial Mathematics, Acsc 419 Estimation and Selection of Actuarial Models

Research interests
Applied stochastic modelling

Juliana Erlijman

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.6
E-mail: Juliana.Erlijman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4338
Website: http://uregina.ca/~erlijmaj/

Current classes
Math 223 Introduction to Abstract Algebra, Math 305 Introductory Mathematical Analysis

Research interests
Subfactors, tensor categories, von Neumann algebras, representations of braid groups

Douglas Farenick

Professor
Dean of Science

Office: Laboratory Building 224
E-mail: Douglas.Farenick@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4143
Website: http://uregina.ca/~farenick/

Current classes
Math 416/816 Introduction to Quantum Information Theory

Research interests
Operator theory, operator algebras, quantum information theory

Remus Floricel

Associate Professor
PIMS Site Director

Office: CW 307.23
E-mail: Remus.Floricel@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4351
Website: http://uregina.ca/~floricre/

Current classes
Math 217 Differential Equations I

Research interests
Functional analysis, operator algebras, quantum probability, noncommutative dynamics

Martin Frankland

Assistant Professor

Office: CW307.17
E-mail: Martin.Frankland@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4425
Website: http://uregina.ca/~franklam/

Current classes
Math 231 Euclidean Geometry

Research interests
Algebraic topology, homotopy theory

Bruce Gilligan

Professor

Office: CW307.8
E-mail: Bruce.Gilligan@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4354
Website: http://uregina.ca/~gilligab/

Current classes
Math 111 Calculus II

Research interests
Symmetries of complex manifolds

Chun-Hua Guo

Professor

Office: CW 307.10
E-mail: Chun-Hua.Guo@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4423
Website: http://uregina.ca/~chguo/

Current classes
Math 111 Calculus II, Math 222 Linear Algebra II

Research interests
Matrix analysis, scientific computing, applications

Allen Herman

Professor

Office: CW 307.13
E-mail: allen.herman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4487
Website: http://uregina.ca/~hermana/

Current classes
Math 111 Calculus II, Math 438/838 Associative Algebras, Groups, and Representation Theory

Research interests
Algebras and representation theory

Michael Kozdron

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.31
E-mail: kozdron@stat.math.uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4885
Website: http://stat.math.uregina.ca/~kozdron/

Current classes
Stat 300 Statistical Learning and Predictive Modeling, Stat 452/852 Advanced Statstical Inference

Research interests
Probability theory and stochastic processes, Schramm-Loewner evolution, statistical mechanics, random walks

Leigh Anne MacKnight

Instructor II

Office: CW 307.12
E-mail: LeighAnne.MacKnight@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5080

Current classes
Math 127 Introductory Finite Mathematics II, Stat 100 Elementary Statistics for Applications

Patrick Maidorn

Instructor III

Office: CW 307.3
E-mail: patrick.maidorn@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4013
Website: http://uregina.ca/~maidornp/

Current classes
Math 112 Applied Calculus II, Math 124 The Art and Science of Secret Writing

Augustin-Liviu Mare

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.1
E-mail: Augustin.Mare@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4884
Website: http://uregina.ca/~mareal/

Current classes
On Sabbatical

Research interests
Geometry and topology of differentiable manifolds, Lie theory

Richard McIntosh

Professor

Office: CW 307.19
E-mail: Richard.McIntosh@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4345

Current classes
Math 213 Vector Calculus, Math 321 Number Theory I

Research interests
Computational number theory, q- hypergeometric series, mock theta functions

Karen Meagher

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.5
E-mail: karen.meagher@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4886
Website: http://uregina.ca/~meagherk

Current classes
Math 103 Applied Calculus I, Math 329 Linear and Discrete Optimization, Math 827 Graph Theory

Research interests
Combinatorics and algebraic graph theory

Donald Stanley

Professor
NSERC Evaluation Group Member

Office: CW 307.21
E-mail: Donald.Stanley@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4343

Current classes
Math 221 Introduction to Proofs and Problem Solving

Research interests
Geometric constructions in homotopy theory, commutative algebra

Fernando Szechtman

Associate Professor
Chair of the Graduate Studies Committee

Office: LB 262.1
E-mail: Fernando.Szechtman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2339

Current classes
Math 111 Calculus II, Math 323 Modern Algebra I

Research interests
Groups and their representations, Lie algebras and their representations, linear algebra

Jan-Paul Venter

Assistant Professor

Office: CW 307.26
E-mail: jan-paul.venter@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4422

Current classes
Acsc 316 Mathematics of Finance III

Research interests
Actuarial Science, Financial mathematics and Investment theory, Enterprise risk management, Stochastic survival models

Andrei Volodin

Professor
Co-op Work/Study Coordinator

Office: CW 307.27
E-mail: Andrei.Volodin@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4771
Website: http://uregina.ca/~volodin/

Current classes
Acsc/Stat 456 Applied Stochastic Processes, Stat 495AE/872 Large Sample Methods

Research interests
Statistical inference, limit theorems, distributions on abstract spaces, bootstrap

Yang Zhao

Associate Professor

Office: CW307.7
E-mail: Yang.Zhao@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4348
Website: http://uregina.ca/~zhaoyang/

Current classes
Stat 160 Introductory Statistics, Stat 357 Sampling Theory

Research interests
Statistics and biostatistics: incomplete data, measurement error, estimating equation, maximum likelihood, EM-algorithm, goodness of fits, and two-phase sampling design

Office Staff

Connie Renwick

Program Coordinator

Office: Cw307.14.2
E-mail: Connie.Renwick@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 337-3122

Pamela Sparvier

Administrative Assistant

Office: CW307.14
E-mail: Pamela.Sparvier@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4148