Submit your vaccination declaration and review vaccination requirements for returning to campus in Fall 2021. Learn more.

Faculty and Academic Staff

Remus Floricel

Associate Professor
Department Head

Office: CW 307.23
E-mail: mathstat.head@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4148
Website: http://uregina.ca/~floricre/

Current classes
MATH 485/813 Introduction to Functional Analysis

Research interests
Functional analysis, operator algebras, quantum probability, noncommutative dynamics

Martín Argerami

Professor

Office: CW307.11
E-mail: martin.argerami@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4340
Website: http://ev03023.math.uregina.ca/

Current classes
MATH 122 Linear Algebra I, MATH 423/823 Modern Algebra II

Research interests
Operator algebras, operator systems, type II factors

Taehan Bae

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.4
E-mail: taehan.bae@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4353
Website: http://uregina.ca/~bae204/

Current classes
ACSC 417 Introduction to Casualty Insurance and Credibility, STAT/MATH 251 Introduction to Probability

Research interests
Actuarial science, risk management, mathematical finance

Sarah Carnochan Naqvi

Laboratory Instructor

Office: CW 307.29
E-mail: Sarah.Carnochan.Naqvi@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2338
Website: http://uregina.ca/~carnocha

Current classes
ACSC/STAT 418 Time Series Analysis and Forecasting, CS/ MATH 261 Methods of Numerical Analysis, STAT 354 Linear Statistical Methods, MATH/STAT 902 Research Tools in Statistics

Dianliang Deng

Professor

Office: CW 307.22
E-mail: DianLiang.Deng@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4344
Website: http://uregina.ca/~deng/

Current classes
STAT 485/STAT 859 Design and Analysis of Experiments

Research interests
Statistical analysis of discrete data, survival data, longitudinal data and functional data, and limit theorems in probability

Peter Douglas

Instructor III
Accreditation Actuary; Internship Coordinator; Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries; Fellow of the Society of Actuaries

Office: CW 307.24
E-mail: peter.douglas@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4346
Website: http://uregina.ca/~douglas/

Current classes
ACSC/STAT 317 Actuarial Models I, MATH 110 Calculus I

Research interests
Applied stochastic modelling

Juliana Erlijman

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.6
E-mail: Juliana.Erlijman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4338
Website: http://uregina.ca/~erlijmaj/

Current classes
On Leave

Research interests
Subfactors, tensor categories, von Neumann algebras, representations of braid groups

Shaun Fallat

Professor

Office: CW 307.2
E-mail: shaun.fallat@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4107
Website: http://uregina.ca/~sfallat/

Current classes
MATH 422/822 Abstract Linear Algebra

Research interests
Matrix theory, discrete mathematics, graph theory, combinatorial matrix analysis

Douglas Farenick

Professor
Dean of Science

Office: Laboratory Building 224
E-mail: Douglas.Farenick@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4143
Pronoun(s): he/him
Website: http://uregina.ca/~farenick/

Research interests
Operator theory, operator algebras, quantum information theory

Martin Frankland

Assistant Professor

Office: CW307.17
E-mail: Martin.Frankland@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4425
Website: http://uregina.ca/~franklam/

Current classes
MATH 122 Linear Algebra I, MATH 441/841 General Topology

Research interests
Algebraic topology, homotopy theory

Bruce Gilligan

Professor

Office: CW307.8
E-mail: Bruce.Gilligan@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4354
Website: http://uregina.ca/~gilligab/

Current classes
MATH 312 Complex Analysis I

Research interests
Symmetries of complex manifolds

Chun-Hua Guo

Professor

Office: CW 307.10
E-mail: Chun-Hua.Guo@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4423
Website: http://uregina.ca/~chguo/

Current classes
MATH 261 Methods of Numerical Analysis

Research interests
Matrix analysis, scientific computing, applications

Allen Herman

Professor
PIMS Site Director, Chair of Research Committee

Office: CW 307.13
E-mail: allen.herman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4487
Website: http://uregina.ca/~hermana/

Current classes
On Sabbatical

Research interests
Algebras and representation theory

Michael Kozdron

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.31
E-mail: michael.kozdron@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4885
Pronoun(s): he/him
Website: http://stat.math.uregina.ca/~kozdron/

Current classes
STAT 160 Introductory Statistics, STAT 451/851 Advanced Probability

Research interests
Probability theory and stochastic processes, Schramm-Loewner evolution, statistical mechanics, random walks

Leigh Anne MacKnight

Instructor II

Office: CW 307.12
E-mail: LeighAnne.MacKnight@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5080

Current classes
STAT 100 Elementary Statistics for Applications, STAT 200 Intermediate Statistics for Applications

Patrick Maidorn

Instructor III
Chair of the Undergraduate Studies Committee

Office: CW 307.3
E-mail: patrick.maidorn@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4013
Website: http://uregina.ca/~maidornp/

Current classes
MATH 102 Mathematical Modelling and Precalculus, MATH 103 Applied Calculus I

Augustin-Liviu Mare

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.1
E-mail: Augustin.Mare@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4884
Website: http://uregina.ca/~mareal/

Current classes
MATH 217 Differential Equations I, MATH 331 Non-Euclidean Geometry

Research interests
Geometry and topology of differentiable manifolds, Lie theory

Richard McIntosh

Professor

Office: CW 307.19
E-mail: Richard.McIntosh@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4345

Current classes
MATH 110 Calculus I, MATH 221 Introduction to Proofs and Problem Solving

Research interests
Computational number theory, q- hypergeometric series, mock theta functions

Karen Meagher

Professor
Chair of the Graduate Studies Committee, NSERC Evaluation Group Member

Office: CW 307.5
E-mail: karen.meagher@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4886
Pronoun(s): she/her
Website: http://uregina.ca/~meagherk

Current classes
MATH 327 Introductory Combinatorics

Research interests
Combinatorics and algebraic graph theory

Donald Stanley

Professor

Office: CW 307.21
E-mail: Donald.Stanley@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4343
Pronoun(s): He/him/they/them

Current classes
MATH 110 Calculus I (WEB)

Research interests
Geometric constructions in homotopy theory, commutative algebra

Fernando Szechtman

Professor

Office: LB 262.1
E-mail: Fernando.Szechtman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2339

Current classes
MATH 110 Calculus I, MATH 111 Calculus II

Research interests
Groups and their representations, Lie algebras and their representations, linear algebra

Jan-Paul Venter

Assistant Professor

Office: CW 307.26
E-mail: jan-paul.venter@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4422

Current classes
ACSC/MATH 116 Mathematics of Finance I, STAT 351 Intermediate Probability

Research interests
Actuarial Science, Financial mathematics and Investment theory, Enterprise risk management, Stochastic survival models

Andrei Volodin

Professor
Co-op Work/Study Coordinator

Office: CW 307.27
E-mail: Andrei.Volodin@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4771
Website: http://uregina.ca/~volodin/

Current classes
ACSC 418/STAT 418/STAT 818 Time Series Analysis and Forecasting

Research interests
Statistical inference, limit theorems, distributions on abstract spaces, bootstrap

Yang Zhao

Associate Professor

Office: CW307.7
E-mail: Yang.Zhao@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4348
Website: http://uregina.ca/~zhaoyang/

Current classes
STAT 160 Introductory Statistics, STAT 354 Linear Statistical Methods

Research interests
Statistics and biostatistics: incomplete data, measurement error, estimating equation, maximum likelihood, EM-algorithm, goodness of fits, and two-phase sampling design

Office Staff

Sara Apperley

Administrative Assistant

Office: CW307.14
E-mail: sara.apperley@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4148

Connie Renwick

Program Coordinator

Office: Cw307.14.2
E-mail: Connie.Renwick@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 337-3122