Safely back on campus. Learn More.

Faculty and Academic Staff

Remus Floricel

Associate Professor
Department Head

Office: CW 307.23
E-mail: mathstat.head@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4148
Website: https://uregina.ca/~floricre/

Research interests
Functional analysis, operator algebras, quantum probability, noncommutative dynamics

Martín Argerami

Professor

Office: CW307.11
E-mail: martin.argerami@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4340
Website: http://ev03023.math.uregina.ca/

Current classes
MATH 890AN Advanced Topics in Functional Analysis

Research interests
Operator algebras, operator systems, type II factors

Taehan Bae

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.4
E-mail: taehan.bae@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4353
Website: https://uregina.ca/~bae204/

Research interests
Actuarial science, risk management, mathematical finance

Sarah Carnochan Naqvi

Laboratory Instructor

Office: CW 307.29
E-mail: Sarah.Carnochan.Naqvi@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2338
Website: https://uregina.ca/~carnocha

Dianliang Deng

Professor

Office: CW 307.22
E-mail: DianLiang.Deng@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4344
Website: https://uregina.ca/~deng/

Research interests
Statistical analysis of discrete data, survival data, longitudinal data and functional data, and limit theorems in probability

Peter Douglas

Instructor III
Accreditation Actuary; Internship Coordinator; Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries; Fellow of the Society of Actuaries

Office: CW 307.24
E-mail: peter.douglas@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4346
Website: https://uregina.ca/~douglas/

Research interests
Applied stochastic modelling

Juliana Erlijman

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.6
E-mail: Juliana.Erlijman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4338
Website: https://uregina.ca/~erlijmaj/

Current classes
On Leave

Research interests
Subfactors, tensor categories, von Neumann algebras, representations of braid groups

Shaun Fallat

Professor

Office: CW 307.2
E-mail: shaun.fallat@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4107
Website: https://uregina.ca/~sfallat/

Research interests
Matrix theory, discrete mathematics, graph theory, combinatorial matrix analysis

Douglas Farenick

Professor
Dean of Science

Office: Laboratory Building 224
E-mail: Douglas.Farenick@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4143
Pronoun(s): he/him
Website: https://uregina.ca/~farenick/

Research interests
Operator theory, operator algebras, quantum information theory

Martin Frankland

Assistant Professor

Office: CW307.17
E-mail: Martin.Frankland@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4425
Website: https://uregina.ca/~franklam/

Research interests
Algebraic topology, homotopy theory

Bruce Gilligan

Professor

Office: CW307.8
E-mail: Bruce.Gilligan@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4354
Website: https://uregina.ca/~gilligab/

Research interests
Symmetries of complex manifolds

Chun-Hua Guo

Professor

Office: CW 307.10
E-mail: Chun-Hua.Guo@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4423
Website: https://uregina.ca/~chguo/

Current classes
On Sabbatical

Research interests
Matrix analysis, scientific computing, applications

Allen Herman

Professor
PIMS Site Director, Chair of Research Committee

Office: CW 307.13
E-mail: allen.herman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4487
Website: https://uregina.ca/~hermana/

Current classes
On Sabbatical

Research interests
Algebras and representation theory

Michael Kozdron

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.31
E-mail: michael.kozdron@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4885
Pronoun(s): he/him
Website: http://stat.math.uregina.ca/~kozdron/

Research interests
Probability theory and stochastic processes, Schramm-Loewner evolution, statistical mechanics, random walks

Leigh Anne MacKnight

Instructor II

Office: CW 307.12
E-mail: LeighAnne.MacKnight@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5080

Patrick Maidorn

Instructor III
Chair of the Undergraduate Studies Committee

Office: CW 307.3
E-mail: patrick.maidorn@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4013
Website: https://uregina.ca/~maidornp/

Current classes
MATH 102 Mathematical Modelling and Precalculus, MATH 103 Applied Calculus I, STAT 100 Elementary Statistics for Applications

Augustin-Liviu Mare

Associate Professor

Office: CW 307.1
E-mail: Augustin.Mare@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4884
Website: https://uregina.ca/~mareal/

Research interests
Geometry and topology of differentiable manifolds, Lie theory

Richard McIntosh

Professor

Office: CW 307.19
E-mail: Richard.McIntosh@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4345

Research interests
Computational number theory, q- hypergeometric series, mock theta functions

Karen Meagher

Professor
Chair of the Graduate Studies Committee, NSERC Evaluation Group Member

Office: CW 307.5
E-mail: karen.meagher@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4886
Pronoun(s): she/her
Website: https://uregina.ca/~meagherk

Current classes
MATH 828 Combinatorics

Research interests
Combinatorics and algebraic graph theory

Donald Stanley

Professor

Office: CW 307.21
E-mail: Donald.Stanley@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4343
Pronoun(s): He/him/they/them

Research interests
Geometric constructions in homotopy theory, commutative algebra

Fernando Szechtman

Professor

Office: LB 262.1
E-mail: Fernando.Szechtman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2339

Current classes
Research Leave

Research interests
Groups and their representations, Lie algebras and their representations, linear algebra

Jan-Paul Venter

Assistant Professor

Office: CW 307.26
E-mail: jan-paul.venter@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4422

Research interests
Actuarial Science, Financial mathematics and Investment theory, Enterprise risk management, Stochastic survival models

Andrei Volodin

Professor
Co-op Work/Study Coordinator

Office: CW 307.27
E-mail: Andrei.Volodin@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4771
Website: https://uregina.ca/~volodin/

Research interests
Statistical inference, limit theorems, distributions on abstract spaces, bootstrap, control charts with applications to the quality control, wavelet estimation for density functions, classical and Bayesian estimation methods, exponential inequalities of Hoeffding type, generalized orthogonal random variables, estimation of modes, signal-to noise ratio, two-parameter exponential distribution, delta-lognormal distribution, beta - partially geometric distribution, zero truncated poisson distributions.

Yang Zhao

Associate Professor

Office: CW307.7
E-mail: Yang.Zhao@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4348
Website: https://uregina.ca/~zhaoyang/

Research interests
Statistics and biostatistics: incomplete data, measurement error, estimating equation, maximum likelihood, EM-algorithm, goodness of fits, and two-phase sampling design

Office Staff

Sara Apperley

Administrative Assistant

Office: CW307.14
E-mail: sara.apperley@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 585-4148

Connie Renwick

Program Coordinator

Office: Cw307.14.2
E-mail: Connie.Renwick@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 337-3122