Welcome to the Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science represents one of the strongest academic areas at the University of Regina. It attracts more than half of all the tri-council research funding and holds four Canada Research Chairs. With the need for scientific and technical skills in the 21st century, students will find that the strengths of the Faculty make it an attractive one in which to further their education.

We offer undergraduate and graduate programs through six departments. To find out more about each department, please select a departmental website listed in the left navigation.

Science News


Biology Professor Recipient of NSERC Strategic Project Grant

Congratulations to Dr. Christopher Yost, Department of Biology, for his successful grant proposal titled “Measuring and mitigating the release of mobile antibiotic resistance genes from wastewater treatment plants in Canada”. The $584,975 grant will run for 3 years. For more on this story please visit here


Global warming means prairie lakes absorb carbon dioxide

Researchers at the University of Regina have found that lakes in southern Saskatchewan are absorbing more carbon dioxide as a result of global warming – which is contrary to previous research that suggested global warming is increasing CO2 emissions from lakes. Full article here.


Actuarial Program Accredited

The Faculty of Science congratulates the Department of Mathematics & Statistics for receiving accreditation for the Actuarial Program. Actuarial Science is the application of mathematics, statistics, and risk theories to the design of insurance and pension programs

The University of Regina offers a four-year Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree in Actuarial Science. It is one of only 10 programs that are nationally accredited by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries. 


Congratulations to the Science recipients of the President's Teaching and Learning Scholar Awards for 2015-16

The faculty wishes to congratulate Dr. Scott Murphy, Dr. David Gerhard, Dr. Kerri Finlay, Dr. Josef Buttigieg, and Dr. JingTao Yao for their accomplishments. More information can be found here.