Discovery Begins Here

Faculty Logo

The Faculty of Science is a vibrant community of students and scholars committed to impactful scientific discovery and transformative science education. Our mission is to provide an outstanding educational opportunity for a diverse array of students, from both near and far. Through programs at the bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral levels, along with a selection of one- and two-year undergraduate certificate programs, we are preparing our students for engaging careers in all sectors of the economy. The Cooperative Work-Study Program, which is one of Canada's longest running cooperative education programs, is available in several science disciplines at the bachelor’s and master’s levels, allowing students to work while they learn, gaining valuable job experience and earning employment income.

The Faculty of Science's Strategic Plan, Discovery Begins Here, charts an exciting course forward for our community. With our campuses on Treaty 4 and 6 territories and the homeland of the Métis nation, the Faculty of Science is making important strides toward reconciliation and scientific education for Indigenous peoples. Our commitment to inclusion and equity makes the University of Regina the perfect home for international and Canadian students alike. 

 We are proud to be a partner in hosting the 2024 Turtle Island Indigenous Science Conference, May 21-23, 2024.

Explore Science

A sunset

Why Regina?

Student staining slides

Hands-on Learning

Student Hub

Science Academic Hub

Advising, registration assistance, letters, and forms


Explore the many on-campus living options

Awards, Scholarships, & Bursaries

View the Dean's Honours List and find information on scholarships and bursaries


Career options in Science

Flexible Learning Options

Online & hybrid courses

Student Societies

Check our many student clubs

Meet Us

Getting to Know UR Science

Get to know our professors and laboratory instructors in the Getting to Know UR Science video series.

New Faces in Science

Meet our new faculty and staff in the Faculty of Science. 

Annual Science Awards for Excellence

Meet some of our superb faculty and staff.

Physics PhD Student wins a 2024 Vanier Scholarship

Congratulations to physics PhD student Alicia Postuma, for receiving a 2024 Vanier Scholarship! Alicia’s research investigates proton structure and Alicia's important work could improve our understanding of the forces and particles that make up our universe.

Graduate students win national and international scholarships

Congratulations to our graduate students who are the recipients of national and international awards.

Biology students gain success in U of R 3-Minute Thesis 2024

The Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) is an internationally recognized competition for thesis-based graduate students in which participants present their work and its wider impact in three minutes or less. 

Overall Winner - Michael Mensah

1st Runner-up - Breeann Phillips

Our Purpose


To take advantage of our place on Treaty 4 lands in the heart of the Canadian prairies to become a leading contributor among comprehensive universities in impactful scientific discovery and transformative scientific education.


To provide outstanding postsecondary education in Saskatchewan through impactful scientific discovery, excellence in teaching and research mentorship, preparing our students for engaging careers in all sectors of the economy, making notable positive impacts in our communities, leading the way in environmental stewardship and Indigenization, understanding the importance of our presence on Treaty 4 lands, and fostering an inclusive and diverse community of students, scholars, staff, and alumni.


  • Excellence in Research and Scholarly Pursuits
  • High-Quality Teaching
  • Enthusiasm for Discovery
  • Cooperation and Collaboration
  • Inclusiveness
  • Reconciliation
  • Safety

We are priviliged to work, study, learn, and live on Treaty 4 territory.

Water Testing

Contact Us

Science Academic Hub: Laboratory Building 238; email: science"at"

Dean's Office: Laboratory Building 225; tel: (306) 585-4143; email: science.dean"at"