Two Canada Research Chairs renewed for almost $2 million

News Release Release Date: March 15, 2013 9:00 a.m.

Two Canada Research Chairs at the University of Regina are having their funding renewed.

Dr. Christine Chan, a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Energy and Environmental Informatics, has been renewed for a seven-year term worth $1.4 million dollars. Dr. Chan, a professor in Software Systems Engineering, conducts research into developing and applying artificial intelligence technology in energy and environmental systems.

Dr. Christopher Yost, a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Microbes, the Environment and Food Safety, has been renewed for five years for $500,000. Dr. Yost, an associate professor of Biology, conducts molecular-based research to identify new approaches to reduce microbial threats to food production and protect Canadians from food-borne illness.

The Canada Research Chair program provides federal funding to enhance research and development in Canada’s universities. 

Dr. Chan and Dr. Yost are two of 120 new and renewed recipients across Canada announced today by Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology), while speaking at Western University in London, Ontario.

The University of Regina has 10 Canada Research Chairs. The others are Shadia Drury, Gordon Huang, Peter Leavitt, Gregory Marcheldon, Charity Marsh, Joseph Piwowar, Christopher Somers and Sandra Zilles.

“Today we celebrate the accomplishment of two of Saskatchewan's research stars. The announcement speaks to the value of the high quality of research conducted at the University of Regina,” says Dr. Dennis Fitzpatrick, Vice-President (Research) at the University of Regina.


- 30 -