Nursing grads will have loans forgiven for working in rural areas

News Release Release Date: April 9, 2013 1:00 p.m.

Graduates of the University of Regina’s Saskatchewan Collaborative Bachelor of Nursing (SCBScN) Program will have some of their student loans forgiven if they work in certain rural areas.

The Government of Saskatchewan today announced the launch of a new program to forgive up to $4,000 per year in Saskatchewan Student Loans to a maximum of $20,000 over five years for nurses and nurse practitioners who work in under-served rural and remote communities with populations under 10,000.

The program will benefit graduates of the Saskatchewan Collaborative Bachelor of Nursing (SCBScN) Program, easing their educational financial burden and providing them with incentive to live and work in Saskatchewan.

"This program creates a win-win situation for students and the health care system in rural and remote Saskatchewan," said Dr. david Gregory, Dean of the Faculty of Nursing at the University of Regina. “The value of this program is substantial, and it not only addresses the financial burden shouldered by our nursing students, but it also encourages graduating nurses and nurse practitioners to discover meaningful and satisfying clinical practice experiences in under-served and remote communities throughout the province. This program will foster continued interest in nursing as a career, as well as a commitment to rural nursing.”

The loan forgiveness program complements the rural nursing course offered in the Saskatchewan Collaborative Bachelor of Nursing (SCBScN) Program, which the University of Regina offers in partnership with SIAST’s Nursing Division.

Members of four nursing professions—registered nurse, registered psychiatric nurse, licensed practical nurse, and nurse practitioner—may be eligible for Saskatchewan Student Loan forgiveness.

Details outlining eligibility for the program and the application process are available at


- 30 -