Lloyd Axworthy receives University of Regina Distinguished Canadian Award

News Release Release Date: May 28, 2013 5:30 p.m.

The Honourable Lloyd Axworthy has received the 29th annual Distinguished Canadian Award (DCA) from the University of Regina’s Lifelong Learning Centre and the Seniors’ University Group.

The Distinguished Canadian Award was established by the Seniors' University Group in 1985 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Canadian life. The award is intended to raise public awareness of the dynamic role that people aged 55 and over play in society.

“We are thrilled with the selection of Dr. Axworthy as this year’s Distinguished Canadian Award recipient,” said Dr. Vianne Timmons, President of the University of Regina. “Dr. Axworthy has spent his distinguished career making Canada a better place for its citizens, and his accomplishments as an educator, statesman and humanitarian are very worthy of acknowledgement and celebration.”

Since 2004, Axworthy has been President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg. He is working to renew the campus and its downtown community, making post-secondary education more accessible to inner-city, Aboriginal, new immigrant and refugee students. His political career spanned 27 years, six of which were spent in the Manitoba Legislative Assembly, and 21 in the federal parliament. Axworthy became internationally known for his advancement of the human security concept, especially for the Ottawa Treaty, a landmark global treaty banning anti-personnel landmines. For his leadership on the landmine issue, he was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize in 1997.

Axworthy has received many awards, including the Senator Patrick J. Leahy Award for his leadership in the global effort to outlaw landmines, ban the use of children as soldiers, and bring war criminals to justice. Axworthy has also received the Madison Medal for his record of outstanding public service, the CARE International Humanitarian Award, and honorary doctorates from 12 universities. He was elected Honorary Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and he received the Order of Canada in 2003 and the Order of Manitoba in 2004.

“I am honored and pleased to be receiving the Distinguished Canadian Award from the University of Regina,” said Axworthy. “The event provides us with an opportunity to celebrate the pursuit of adult education while supporting the valuable community outreach programs offered by the Lifelong Learning Centre.”

Past Distinguished Canadian Award recipients includ T.C. Douglas, John Archer, Roy Bonisteel, Allan Blakeney, Stephen Lewis, Sylvia Fedoruk, Adrienne Clarkson, Lloyd Barber, Shirley Douglas, Maria Campbell, Lynda Haverstock, George Reid and Roy Romanow.

Proceeds from the dinner will support the Lifelong Learning Centre programs, including the Aboriginal Grandmothers’ Caring for Grandchildren Support Network.

For more information, visit: www.uregina.ca/cce/events.


- 30 -