University of Regina celebrates excellence at its 40th Spring Convocation

News Release Release Date: June 4, 2014 11:00 a.m.

The University of Regina’s 40th annual spring convocation on June 4, 5 and 6 will celebrate the outstanding achievements of its newest graduates at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina, starting at 2 p.m. each day.

In all, 15 students will be presented with awards for academic excellence and commitment to community service.

The University of Regina's President's Medal is awarded at each Convocation to a student receiving a first degree who has shown academic excellence as well as major leadership in, and commitment to, extra-curricular activities. The recipient of the medal for the 2014 Spring Convocation is Matthew Dipple. He is graduating with Great Distinction with a Bachelor of Applied Science in Environmental Systems Engineering. Dipple is also receiving three other awards: the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists Gold Medal, Johnson and Perry Award in Cooperative Education, and Dean’s Medal in Engineering and Applied Science.

The recipient of the Governor General's Academic Gold Medal, which recognizes the most outstanding academic performance of a graduate student, is Amber Fletcher, who graduates with a Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Studies. She has received numerous graduate awards and scholarships, including a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council - SSHRC Joseph Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarship.

The Governor General's Academic Silver Medal is awarded to the undergraduate student who achieves the highest academic standing in a bachelor's degree program. The recipient is Kevin Williams who earns a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science with a minor in Psychology through Campion College. He graduates with Great Distinction, having maintained an average above 96 per cent.

Additional student award winners who demonstrated high academic achievement and a deep commitment to their community are:

Mason Gardiner – Faculty of Business Administration Dean’s Medal

Barbara Goretzky – Faculty of Fine Arts Dean’s Medal

Sanjit Singh Uppal - Leon Goldman Scholarship

Katherine Schmirler - S.E Stewart Award in Arts

Jessica Naylen - University Prize in Kinesiology and Health Studies

Stephanie Jonassen - University Prize in Social Work

Dylan West - W.A. Riddell Award in Fine Arts

Melissa Enns - Faculty of Arts Dean’s Medal

Catherine Ready - Bachelor of Education After Degree Convocation Prize

Craig Soutar - Faculty of Science Dean’s Medal

Mindy Anderson – Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation Prize

Vincent Langevin – University Medal


- 30 -