University of Regina announces 2018-19 Board of Governors

News Release Release Date: June 4, 2018 2:30 p.m.

The University of Regina is pleased to announce new additions to its Board of Governors.

Glen Berger, who was recently appointed by the Government of Saskatchewan, will serve a three-year term. Berger is an alumnus of the University of Regina, having earned a Bachelor of Arts in 1977 and a Bachelor of Administration in 1981. He has also served as President of the University of Regina Alumni Association. A chartered accountant by training, Berger has served on the Saskatchewan Institute of Chartered Accountants Practice Appraisal Committee from 2009 to 2012 and CPA Saskatchewan’s Professional Conduct Committee from 2013 to present.

Roger Brandvold has been re-appointed to the Board for a three-year term. He served as a Board member for a three-year term commencing in 2015, and currently chairs the Finance and Facilities Committee. For more than a decade, Brandvold has been a Partner and Senior Vice-President with Connor Clark & Lunn Private Capital Ltd., Canada’s largest independent money manager.

Also new to the Board is Haris Khan who was elected to serve as President of the University of Regina Student's Union (URSU) this year. He previously served on URSU as Vice-President (External Affairs). In 2015, Khan was chosen from hundreds of young leaders in Saskatchewan to receive the CBC Future 40 Award.

Continuing on the Board are Cathy Warner (chair), Pam Klein (vice-chair), Gary Bosgoed, Dr. Marlene Smadu, Dr. Art Opseth and Dr. Carlos David Londoño Sulkin. Also continuing on the Board are ex-officio members Dr. Jim Tomkins, chancellor and Dr. Vianne Timmons, president and vice-chancellor.

“It is an honour for me to serve as the Chair of our Board of Governors, whose members are dedicated leaders who actively promote the University of Regina’s academic mission of teaching, research and public service,” said Board Chair, Cathy Warner. “I also wish to thank past-chair Daniel Kwochka, who joined the Board in 2011 and served as Chair from 2015 to 2017. He has demonstrated his immense commitment to the University of Regina time and again through his service, and even though his work on the Board is complete, he remains a champion of the University.


About The University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, and Lakota nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 15,000 students study within the University's 10 faculties, 25 academic departments/schools, 18 research centres and institutes, and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral degrees. In 2017, the University of Regina was ranked in the Top 200 Best Young Universities in the world by Times Higher Education.


- 30 -