University of Regina announces ninth Chancellor

News Release Release Date: June 10, 2019 10:40 a.m.

The University of Regina is pleased to announce that Pamela (Pam) Klein, B.A., M.Ed., Pro.Dir, has been elected to serve as Chancellor from July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022. Klein will serve as the University of Regina’s ninth Chancellor.

Klein is the President of Phoenix Group, Saskatchewan’s leading advertising and communications firm. She has been associated with the University of Regina for many years, most recently serving as Vice-Chair of the Board of Governors.

Klein also has a long history of community service with a number of organizations and agencies including: the Paul J. Hill School of Business; Camp Circle O’ Friends; Amakon Foundation; the MacKenzie Art Gallery; Sask Film; Hospitals of Regina Foundation; North Central Family Centre and Heritage Regina. She founded the Power of Pink, an event to benefit breast health and has donated her communications expertise to many community events. Klein is inducted in the Junior Achievement Business Hall of Fame and recipient of the Canada 150 Medal for philanthropic contributions.

“The role of Chancellor resides at the intersection of campus and community, best serving our students on and off campus, across the province and around the world,” said Klein. “I am honoured to support those who generously serve the University of Regina and fuel student success.”

“Pam Klein has been a driving force in our community and a key member of our University family for a number of years,” said Dr. Vianne Timmons, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Regina. “She is a role model for women as entrepreneurs and community leaders, and to have her in the role of Chancellor will be a tremendous asset to the University.”

The University Chancellor's ceremonial duties include chairing the Convocation ceremonies in the spring and fall. The Chancellor also chairs the University of Regina Senate, which is responsible for the academic welfare of the institution. The Chancellor is a voting member of the Board of Governors and is a key representative of the University in the community. The position is elected by members of the University of Regina Senate for a three-year term, with possible renewal for one additional term.

Current Chancellor, Dr. R. James (Jim) Tomkins, B.A. (Hon.), M.S., PhD., completes his final term on June 30, 2019. That will be 50 years - almost to the day - from when he joined the Regina Campus faculty as a Professor of Mathematics.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Chancellor Tomkins, not only for his service as Chancellor over the last six years, but also for his life-long commitment to the University of Regina,” Timmons added. “He has been a strong supporter of our students and our institution for a half century. He leaves a remarkable legacy and we will be forever grateful for his service.”

Pamela (Pam) Klein – B.A., M.Ed, Pro.Dir (Professional Director)

Pam Klein grew up in Saskatoon and Regina and attended Campbell Collegiate. She earned her Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from the University of Regina in 1980 and went on to attain her Masters in Educational Psychology at the University of Manitoba in 1982. Klein is currently pursuing her Doctoral studies at the U of R with research interest in digital communication and neuroscience.

Klein has been with Phoenix group since 1999, taking over as President in 2008. Her leadership philosophy is built on; striving for excellence, creating a rewarding work environment and giving back to the community. Prior to her tenure with Phoenix Group, she was the Director of Sales and Marketing for Crown-Canada Life.

While Klein has lived and worked across Canada and around the world, Regina is home. She derives her joy and purpose from her community involvement, her husband and two adult children, and her fulfilling career.

About The University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 15,000 students study within the University's 10 faculties, 25 academic departments/schools, 18 research centres and institutes, and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees.


- 30 -