Million dollar Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarship created at University of Regina

News Release Release Date: June 11, 2015 10:00 a.m.

The University of Regina and Universities Canada (formerly the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada) are pleased to announce the establishment of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarship, an ambitious new scholarship program which will give students invaluable global experiences.

From 2015-2018, the $1 million Scholarship program will create opportunities for 40 University of Regina graduate students to study at partner universities in Commonwealth countries. In addition, 12 students from partner institutions in Malawi, Jamaica, Antigua and New Zealand will have the opportunity to pursue graduate-level study at the University of Regina.

“The University of Regina is pleased to be able to provide this new scholarship, which will enhance support of our exceptional graduate students,” says University of Regina President and Chancellor, Dr. Vianne Timmons. “This scholarship will allow our students and those from partner universities to access unique opportunities to further their studies and conduct research in leading edge institutions across the Commonwealth.”

“This visionary scholarship program launches an exciting moment in international student mobility, for the University of Regina and for all other participating institutions,” says Paul Davidson, President of Universities Canada. “The Canadian Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarships will provide transformative international experiences for Canadian students, and help build economic, diplomatic and cultural ties that benefit all Canadians.”

“The University’s new strategic plan identifies student success as one of our key priorities and we appreciate the support of Universities Canada, which has enabled us to provide this scholarship and advance this strategic priority,” says Timmons. 

Since 2009, international student enrolment has grown by more than 96 per cent to comprise 13 per cent of all students at the University of Regina. More than 1,800 students from approximately 90 countries are enrolled in credit studies while more than 350 students take part in the non-credit English as a Second Language preparatory program.

The Canadian Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarships program is a joint initiative of the Rideau Hall Foundation, Community Foundations of Canada and Universities Canada. It was created through contributions from the Government of Canada, provincial governments (including Saskatchewan), the private sector and individuals worldwide. 


- 30 -