U of R President Vianne Timmons Visits Northern Communities

News Release Release Date: September 11, 2018 2:39 p.m.

University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Vianne Timmons will visit the northern communities of Wollaston Lake, La Ronge and Pinehouse this week during her annual Community Connections Tour.

“The University of Regina is an institution that serves Saskatchewan, and so it is imperative that we listen to and learn from citizens across our province, including those living in the north,” said Timmons. “I’m looking forward to the opportunity to speak about the University and its programs, and to hear from the residents of Wollaston Lake, La Ronge and Pinehouse on how we might better serve their communities and the entire province.”

On September 12, Timmons and other senior University of Regina officials will meet with education and community leaders at Wollaston Lake and then travel to La Ronge for a meeting with town council. On September 13, they will meet with the Lac La Ronge Indian Band, La Ronge town and school officials, as well as representatives from Northlands College. The tour will conclude in Pinehouse on September 14 with community meetings.

Timmons began the Community Connections Tour in 2009 shortly after being appointed U of R President and has visited the following communities at least once since then: Battleford; Buffalo Narrows;  Cumberland House; Estevan; Fond du Lac; Humboldt; Kawacatoose First Nation; La Ronge; Melfort; Melville; Moose Jaw; Nipawin; North Battleford; Pinehouse; Prince Albert; Red Earth Cree Nation; Saskatoon; Shoal Lake Cree  Nation; Stanley Mission; Stony Rapids; Swift Current; Tisdale; Uranium City; Weyburn and Yorkton.


About The University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 15,000 students study within the University's 10 faculties, 25 academic departments/schools, 18 research centres and institutes, and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees. In 2017, the University of Regina was ranked in the Top 200 Best Young Universities in the world by Times Higher Education.



- 30 -