Elaine Bourassa receives Distinguished Service Award

News Release Release Date: October 4, 2019 9:30 a.m.

The University of Regina’s Board of Governors will present Elaine Bourassa with the University’s Distinguished Service Award at an evening ceremony on October 6, 2019.

“A prominent alumna, philanthropist and esteemed member of the University of Regina community, Elaine Bourassa is a truly worthy recipient of the University’s Distinguished Service Award,” said Roger Brandvold, Chair, Board of Governors, University of Regina. “She has been a passionate supporter of the University and her expertise and financial competencies as a Chartered Professional Accountant were instrumental in helping the Board ensure the University met its fiduciary responsibilities, while maintaining our focus on the values of the University and on the people our decisions would impact.”

Bourassa served as a member of the Senate (2008-17) and on the Board of Governors as a Senate representative (2011-17) where she chaired the Audit and Risk Management Committee and served as a member of the Human Resources Committee. She has also contributed to the College Avenue Campus Renewal Project and, along with her husband, established the Elaine and Paul Bourassa Bursary in Business Administration, 2011-15.

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is not conferred regularly. It is only awarded at the discretion of the Board when the DSA committee recommends someone the Board considers a remarkable candidate who has been a longstanding contributor to the University, provided service above and beyond the expectations of the roles they have held, and significantly enhanced the development and operations of one or more of the University’s areas of endeavour.

Since the awards began in 1983, 15 members of the University community have been recognized for their service. They include: Jim Ayre (1983), Cliff Blight (1984), D. T. Lowery (posthumously in 1986), Don Irwin (1988),  Dorothy Pogany (1990), Jack Boan (2006), William J. Howard (2007), R. James Tomkins (2008), Donald Lee (2009), Mo Bundon (2010), Andy Glavacevic (posthumously in 2012), Harvey Mazinke and Michael Tymchak (2013), George Maslany (2014), and Garnet Garven (2016).


  • A Chartered Professional Accountant with a Bachelor of Administration degree (Great Distinction) from the University of Regina.
  • More than 40 years’ experience in finance and administration roles with an extensive background in finance, accounting, change management, strategic planning, project management and administration.
  • Elected to the University of Regina Senate in 2008.
  • As Senate representative, served on the Board of Governors of the University of Regina from 2011 -2017.
  • Chaired the Board’s Audit and Risk Management Committee, and served as a member of the Human Resources Committee.
  • Supporter of, and donor to, the College Avenue Campus Renewal Project.
  • Established the Elaine and Paul Bourassa Bursary in Business Administration, 2011-2015.
  • Recognized, along with her husband Paul Bourassa, as Outstanding Philanthropists in 2012 by the Association of Fundraising professionals.
  • Volunteered with Regina Palliative Care, the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce, the Mackenzie Art Gallery, Canadian Interuniversity Sports women’s hockey championships, Regina YWCA, and many other worthy organizations.


About The University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 16,500 students study within the University's 10 faculties, 25 academic departments/schools, 18 research centres and institutes, and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees.


- 30 -