Canadian Red Cross in Saskatchewan to receive President’s Community Award

News Release Release Date: October 15, 2015 9:00 a.m.

The University of Regina will present its sixth annual President’s Community Award to the Canadian Red Cross in Saskatchewan. Receiving the award on behalf of the Red Cross is Provincial Director, Cindy Fuchs.

“I cannot think of a more deserving organization to receive this award,” says University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Vianne Timmons. “The Red Cross has a long history of serving our province – providing emergency and disaster services, improving the lives of vulnerable people, and working to prevent abuse, bullying, violence, and sexual exploitation. The University is proud to partner with the Red Cross in its service to our communities and proud to recognize the tremendous difference this organization has made in the lives of so many people.”

The University partnered with the Red Cross this summer when more than 13,000 people were forced from their homes due to massive wildfires in the province’s northern region, working with the organization to provide shelter and services those affected.

Additionally, the University works with the Red Cross to prevent abuse, bullying, violence, and sexual exploitation, through initiatives such as the Red Cross Day of Pink. This year, the University hosted more than 2,000 elementary and high school students at a rally in support of the Red Cross Day of Pink, an event aimed at raising awareness of, and preventing, bullying.

“Receiving this award is a tremendous honour for our staff and nearly 400 volunteers across the province,” said Red Cross Provincial Director Cindy Fuchs. “We are thrilled to work in partnership with the University of Regina to help improve the lives of people in Saskatchewan.”

The University of Regina President’s Community Award was created in 2010 in keeping with the University’s commitment to serve the provincial community and to recognize those who have a strong history of working to better the lives of others in Saskatchewan. It honours individuals or organizations whose values, history of service to Saskatchewan and concern for our communities have made a lasting impact on the province.

Previous recipients are Renu Kapoor, a long-serving volunteer within the community of Regina; Member of Parliament, Mr. Ralph Goodale; former Mayor of Regina, Mr. Pat Fiacco; former Prince Albert Mayor Jim Scarrow; and the RCMP “Depot” Division.


- 30 -