Celebrating Fall 2020 Convocation

News Release Release Date: October 16, 2020 9:00 a.m.

The University of Regina’s Fall 2020 Convocation recognizes the accomplishments of 714 graduates who are receiving 739 degrees, diplomas, and certificates. 

“Like Spring Convocation this past June, Fall Convocation cannot be held in person, but that in no way diminishes the pride we take in our graduates and their accomplishments,” said Thomas Chase, Interim President and Vice-Chancellor. “It is a testament to our graduates’ resilience, innovation, and dedication that as they completed their programs, they successfully navigated the transition to remote teaching and learning that was necessitated by the COVID-19 pandemic. 

“Together with the countless faculty and staff members who are so committed to our students’ education, I join families and friends in extending our best wishes to these graduates. Congratulations and welcome to our family of close to 80,000 alumni! We look forward to your future accomplishments.” 

To celebrate our graduates, the University has produced a special commemorative program for graduates that will be mailed to them with their parchment. A video recognition of Fall graduates will be aired by Access Communications at various times over the next few months and posted on the University website. Virtual “electronic swag” is available on our website for graduates to download and create their own special memories. The University is also creating a virtual yearbook that will allow 2020 graduates to share their memories from their time at the University and stay connected with their colleagues. 

“Convocation is typically celebrated with a ceremonial meeting where new graduates are welcomed into the convocation community,” Chancellor Pam Klein said. “Even though we cannot gather in person I’m honoured to be able to extend a heartfelt welcome to our Fall 2020 graduates. We truly appreciate how diligently you have worked to achieve this milestone.” 

Graduates recognized for academic achievement, volunteerism, and building community include: 

Dr. Melissa Anne Wuerch - Doctor of Philosophy in Clinical Psychology is the recipient of the President’s Distinguished Graduate Student Award, which recognizes outstanding academic performance and is granted to a student whose graduating thesis, exhibition, or performance and the corresponding defense was deemed meritorious by the examining committee.  

Dr. Wuerch received 18 graduate awards for her academic and clinical excellence. Included in these awards are the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) Canada Graduate Scholarship for her Master's thesis and two Friends of Meitheal Awards for her continued commitment to working towards a better relationship between psychology and Indigenous Peoples, in response to the calls of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. 

Ryan David William Hamilton - Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting with Distinction is the recipient of the President's Medal for Fall 2020. The President’s Medal is awarded at each Spring and Fall Convocation to a student receiving a fi­rst degree who has shown academic excellence as well as major leadership and commitment to extra-curricular activities. 

Hamilton held leadership roles with Enactus, the Hill Management Student Association, and the Hill Business Development Accounting Club. His community involvement includes many years of volunteerism with Big Brothers Big Sisters, Regina LGBTQ+ Pride, and the Regina Food Bank. He did all of this while maintaining excellent grades, working various jobs, and confronting considerable personal adversity. 

Hamilton is also the recipient of the Faculty of Business Administration Dean’s Medal. Hamilton is available for media interviews through the contact listed on this release. His remarkaCONTQACT: ble story is available here

Other students being recognized for their accomplishments include: 

Alisha Kathleen Agatha Knoll, Faculty of Arts Dean's Medal and University Prize in Arts

Tyler Gerald DeCook Marin, University Prize in Business Administration

Khadija Khalid, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science Dean’s Medal and University Prize in Engineering

Jaycee Lee Magwood, Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies Dean’s Medal

Reece Randa Girodat, University Prize in Kinesiology and Health Studies

Hayley Elizabeth Hicks, Saskatchewan Registered Nurses’ Association Gold Medal for Excellence in Clinical Practice

Daniel Peter Ferguson, Faculty of Science Dean’s Medal

Julian John Palandri, University Prize in Science

Kathryn Colleen Netmaker, Faculty of Social Work Dean’s Medal and University Prize in Social Work

About the University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 16,600 students study within the University's 10 faculties and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees.


- 30 -