46th Annual Fall Convocation Celebrations

News Release Release Date: October 18, 2019 1:33 p.m.

The University of Regina’s 46th Annual Fall Convocation recognizes the accomplishment of 738 graduates who are receiving 758 degrees, diplomas, or certificates.

“Convocation is a special time for the University as we join with family and friends in celebrating the achievements of our graduating students,” said University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Vianne Timmons. “These students represent the best of our University, and we wish them all the best as they join our network of almost 76,000 alumni who are making a positive impact here in Saskatchewan, across Canada, and around the world.”

Graduates recognized for academic achievement, volunteerism, and building community include:

Quinn James Bast - Software Systems Engineering, Great Distinction – is the recipient of the University of Regina President’s Medal, which is awarded at each convocation to a student receiving a first degree. Bast is being recognized for his academic achievements; he has been on the Dean’s Honours list eight times throughout his academic career and has been the recipient of several scholarships, as well as his leadership and extracurricular activities including involvement with the Regina Engineering Student Society.

He is also the Fall convocation recipient of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science Dean’s Medal and the University Prize in Engineering and Applied Science.

Dr. Tegan Beattie - Doctor of Philosophy in Physics – is the recipient of the President’s Distinguished Graduate Student Award, which is awarded to the student deemed to have achieved an exceptional thesis, exhibition, or performance, and corresponding defense, and who had an outstanding academic performance in their graduate program. Leadership and university or community involvement is also considered.

Beattie has received numerous awards at the undergraduate, master’s and doctoral levels, including the Sadie and Norma Ratner Prize in Physics, Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research Graduate Scholarship and the UR Graduate Scholarship.

Beattie’s dissertation project is titled Measurement of the Beam Asymmetry for the ETA and ETA Prime Mesons with the GlueX Experiment. The External Examiner noted: “I would like to stress here the high quality of the manuscript, especially the pedagogical attention of Mr. T. Beattie, which [he] expresses all along the dissertation and most brilliantly in the introductory first chapter.”

Alexa Eleni LaPlante, Faculty of Business Administration Dean's Medal

Brett Daniel Wyatt, University Prize in Media, Art and Performance

Crystal Ann Knihnitski, Saskatchewan Registered Nurses' Association Gold Medal For Excellence in Clinical Practice

Janelle Elizabeth Gerard, Faculty of Arts Dean's Medal

Joseph Daniel Ashworth, University Prize in Science

Kira Loren Hall, University Prize in Business Administration

Marie Louise Malick, Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation Award

Nolan Wayne Gagnon, University Prize in Social Work

Savannah Kenya Odle Kosteniuk, University Prize in Arts

Taylor Arjun Teckchandani, University Prize in Kinesiology and Health Studies

Temiloluwa Judith Durojaiye, Faculty of Nursing and School of Nursing Dean's Medal

The University is also bestowing an honorary degree.

Dr. Arthur Wakabayashi receives an Honorary Doctorate of Laws, honoris causa (LLD) for his distinguished public service to the province and country. Among his career highlights were his involvement in negotiations for the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement, and his time as provincial negotiator for the Saskatchewan Treaty Land Entitlement Settlement. He also served the University as Chancellor from 2001 until 2007. Mr. Wakabayashi continues to be a great contributor to the province, the Japanese-Canadian community, and the University of Regina.

Wakabayashi has been the recipient of numerous national and local awards including the 125th Canada Anniversary Medal, the Order of Canada, and the Queen’s Gold and Diamond Jubilee Medals.

“I would like to congratulate Dr. Wakabayashi on his honorary degree and thank him for his lifetime of service,” added Timmons. “I would also like to thank alumna Pamela Klein, who at Convocation is being installed as the University’s ninth Chancellor. Her commitment to our University and its students, as well as her record of service on the Board of Governors, will make her a tremendous asset in this important role.”  


About the University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 16,500 students study within the University's 10 faculties and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees.


- 30 -