Student success and honorary degree recipient to be celebrated at Fall Convocation

News Release Release Date: October 20, 2016 11:15 a.m.

The University of Regina’s 43rd Fall Convocation on Friday, October 21 will celebrate the outstanding achievements of 715 graduates. The ceremony takes place at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina and can also be seen live online by visiting

During the ceremony, 14 students will be presented with awards for academic excellence and commitment to community service.

Dr. Zhong Li will receive the President’s Distinguished Graduate Student Award. The award is presented to the student who demonstrated outstanding academic performance in a graduate program, and has achieved an exceptional thesis, exhibition or performance, and corresponding defense. She earned a doctor of philosophy in environmental systems engineering.

Marcia Anne Mitschke will be awarded the President’s Medal, presented to a student with a minimum average of 80 per cent and who has shown leadership in and commitment to extra-curricular activities while at the University of Regina. Marcia is graduating with a bachelor of science in chemistry (cooperative education designation), achieving great distinction with a cumulative grade point average of 88.26 per cent, through Luther College. She was also awarded the Faculty of Science Dean’s Medal.

Student award winners who will also be recognized at the 2016 Fall Convocation include:

  • Dallas Richard Niessen – University Prize in Arts
  • Adam Crosby Thornton – Faculty of Arts Dean’s Medal
  • Aaron Rowland Fritzler – University Prize in Business Administration
  • Ruaa Al-Bahrani – Faculty of Business Administration Dean’s Medal
  • Skyler Nicholas Hladun – University Prize in Engineering and Applied Arts; and the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science Dean’s Medal
  • Samantha Jo Illerbrun – University Prize in Kinesiology and Health Studies
  • Elisabeth Pauline Fortier – Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies Dean’s Medal
  • Brady James Alexander Frank – University Prize in Media, Art and Performance; and Faculty of Media, Art and Performance Dean’s Medal
  • Brittany Katharine Ziegler – Saskatchewan Registered Nurses’ Association Gold Medal for Excellence in Clinical Practice
  • Carleen Marion Meszaros – Faculty of Nursing/Saskatchewan Polytechnic Dean’s Medal
  • Jordan Connor Thompson – University Prize in Science
  • Michelle Ivanna Zabiaka – University Prize in Social Work

In addition, the University is bestowing Ken Sunquist with a Doctor of Laws, honoris causa. Sunquist graduated from Regina Campus in 1970. He is an international strategic business advisor, management consultant and corporate director. He served as ambassador to Indonesia, and was later chief trade commissioner for Canada.

Previous recipients of University of Regina honorary degrees include former Saskatchewan premiers Tommy Douglas (1978), Allan Blakeney (1993) and Roy Romanow (2005); former Saskatchewan Lieutenant-Governors Sylvia Fedoruk (1991) and Lynda Haverstock (2006); Saskatchewan artist Joe Fafard (1989); hockey great Gordie Howe (1997); Saskatchewan philanthropist and patron of the arts Jacqui Shumiatcher (2002); The Princess Royal, Princess Anne (2004); Regina entrepreneur Frederick Hill (2005); Regina Symphony Orchestra conductor Victor Sawa (2006); internationally renowned speed skater Catriona Le May Doan (2007); paralympic athlete Lisa Marie Franks (2009); past president of the Saskatchewan Roughriders Tom Shepherd and humanitarian Tom Jackson (2010);; musician k.d. lang (2013); Boston Symphony Orchestra Concertmaster Malcolm Lowe (2014); writer and administrator Lyn Goldman (2015); and Chief Tammy Cook-Searson (2016).


- 30 -