Two honored for their distinguished service to the University of Regina

News Release Release Date: December 9, 2013 11:45 a.m.

The University of Regina’s Board of Governors will honor two from its University community by presenting them with the University’s Distinguished Service Award on December 9. This year’s recipients are past Board Chair Mr. Harvey Mazinke and the past Faculty of Education Dean, Dr. Michael Tymchak.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals who have rendered outstanding service to the University; served the community for many years; significantly enhanced the development and/or operations of one or more of the University’s areas of endeavor; and, is a nomination that is strongly supported within the University community.

University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Vianne Timmons says she is pleased to honour both Mr. Mazinke and Dr. Tymchak for their service.

“Their leadership and expertise have had an impact that is still being felt today at our University and in the larger community,” Timmons says.  “In Mr. Mazinke’s case, he set examples at the University of Regina in terms of university fundraising and governance that have been models for those who have followed him.  For his part, Dr. Tymchak has influenced the continuing development of the University’s interdisciplinary initiatives over the past couple of decades, and the advice he has provided to the provincial government regarding education policy has had an impact on the lives of thousands of students in Saskatchewan.”   

Board of Governors Chair Lee Elliott echoes President Timmons’ support, describing this year’s recipients as “shining examples of fulfilling the University of Regina’s motto, ‘As one who serves’.” 

Since the awards began in 1983, only eleven members of the University community have been recognized for their service. They include: Jim Ayre [1983], Cliff Blight [1984], D. T. Lowery [posthumously in 1986], Don Irwin [1988],  Dorothy Pogany [1990], Jack Boan [2006], William J. Howard [2007], R. James Tomkins [2008], Donald Lee [2009], Mo Bundon [2010], and Andy Glavacevic [posthumously in 2012].


- 30 -