University of Regina honours Renu Kapoor with annual President’s Community Award

News Release Release Date: December 16, 2014 11:20 a.m.

The University of Regina will present its fifth annual President’s Community Award to Renu Kapoor, a long-serving volunteer within the community of Regina.

University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Vianne Timmons says that recognizing Ms. Kapoor for her years of service to the province is appropriate because of how Ms. Kapoor embodies the University’s motto, “As One Who Serves”.

“I am honoured to recognize Renu for her more than 45 years of volunteerism – not just in within her field of social work, but also in the areas of education, health care, multiculturalism and women’s issues,” says Dr. Timmons. “Renu has dedicated countless hours to sitting on numerous boards and raising more than two million dollars for a variety of local, provincial and national organizations. She has quietly helped thousands of people in Saskatchewan and beyond, and our provincial community has benefited a great deal from her work.”

Ms. Kapoor was born and raised in India. She completed her graduate studies in social work in India and the U.S. from the University of Wisconsin in 1969.

She worked with Mental Health and Addiction Services for over 37 years in Regina and supervised many undergraduate and graduate students from Faculty of Social Work and Psychology Department at the University of Regina.

She is a freelance consultant and works with several employee assistance program companies. In addition, for more than 40 years Ms. Kapoor has conducted assertiveness training and stress management workshops.

Ms. Kapoor has received many awards including 2010 CTV Citizen of the year, 2007 YWCA Women of Distinction Lifetime Achievement Award, 2004 CASW Distinguished Social Work Award, 2003 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal, 2003 Flare Volunteer Lifetime Award, the Queen’s Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals.

“This award means a lot to me by giving back to the communities who inspired me to build better lives for all of us and also to be a catalyst for change,” says Kapoor. “Receiving the President’s Community Award is all the more important as universities serve the communities who fund them - it's for our youth and future generations to come. President Timmons has been a source of inspiration to me for her work in Regina and surrounding areas.”

The University of Regina President’s Community Award was created in 2010 in keeping with the University’s commitment to serve the provincial community and to recognize those who have a strong history of working to better the lives of others in Saskatchewan. It honours individuals or organizations whose values, history of service to Saskatchewan and concern for our communities have made a lasting impact on the province.

Previous recipients are Member of Parliament, Mr. Ralph Goodale; President and CEO of Hospitals of Regina Foundation and former Mayor of Regina, Mr. Pat Fiacco; former Prince Albert Mayor Jim Scarrow; and the RCMP “Depot” Division.


- 30 -