Camp fYrefly to receive University of Regina’s President’s Community Award for 2019/20

Media Advisory Release Date: November 27, 2019 2:35 p.m.

University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Vianne Timmons is pleased to announce that Camp fYrefly is this year’s recipient of the annual President’s Community Award.

For eleven years, Camp fYrefly has been Saskatchewan’s only volunteer-based summer leadership retreat for gender and sexually diverse young people, along with allied youth. Camp fYrefly plays an important role in helping these children and youth develop their coping and leadership skills, as well as the resiliency necessary for them to become agents of change in their schools, families and communities.

The award will be presented by Dr. Timmons to Camp fYrefly at a reception this Thursday. It will be accepted by Jacq Brasseur, Executive Director of UR Pride which helps administer the program, and Jesse Bazzul representing fYrefly Regina.

WHEN: Thursday, November 28 at 7:00 p.m.

WHERE: Terrace Building, 10 Research Drive

Media are welcome to attend. Dr. Timmons and Jacq Brasseur will be available for interviews prior to the presentation at approximately 6:15 p.m..

“Camp fYrefly is a deserving recipient of the President’s Community Award because the organization and its volunteers are committed to supporting 2SLGBTQ+ youth who attend the camp, and help foster and promote inclusivity for all gender and sexually diverse youth in our province,” says Dr. Timmons. “This is closely aligned with the University of Regina’s commitment to a creating a safe, welcoming and inclusive environment on and off our campus, and it is something that is increasingly important at a time when all of us should be supporting and promoting the principles of equity, diversity and inclusion.”

“Studies show that 2SLGBTQ+ are 4x more likely to have suicidal thoughts than their peers,” said Jacq Brasseur, Executive Director of UR Pride Centre. “It was obvious to us, even before UR Pride had the pleasure of providing administrative support to fYrefly Regina, that Camp fYrefly is a necessary project that improves well-being of 2SLGBTQ+ youth across Saskatchewan every summer.”

“It is a very important honour for fYrefly to receive the President’s Community Award, because of the public support it offers to the camp’s mission of nurturing resiliency, love, and understanding for gender and sexually diverse (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, two spirit) and allied youth,” said Jesse Bazul,Chair fYrefly Regina. “fYrefly greatly appreciates the support of the University of Regina in delivering programs to youth from all over the province, especially from those places where support for queer and questioning youth is limited.”

The President’s Community Award was created in 2010 in keeping with the University of Regina’s commitment to serve the provincial community and to recognize those who have a strong history of working to better the lives of others in Saskatchewan. Previous recipients include:

2018/19            Regina’s Chili for Children
2017/18            The Saskatchewan Roughriders
2016                 Dr. Jacqui Shumiatcher (philanthropist)
2015                 Mrs. Cindy Fuchs (Canadian Red Cross – Saskatchewan)
2014                 Mrs. Renu Kapoor (Community volunteer)
2013                 The Honourable Ralph Goodale
2012                 Mr. Pat Fiacco, CEO of Tourism Saskatchewan and Former Mayor of Regina
2011                 Mr. Jim Scarrow, former Mayor of Prince Albert
2010                 Inaugural President’s Community Award was presented when the RCMP “Depot” Division was
  honoured for its 125 years of service to the province.


About the University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 16,500 students study within the University's 10 faculties, 25 academic departments/schools, 18 research centres and institutes, and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees.


- 30 -