University of Regina celebrates excellence at its 41st Spring Convocation

News Release Release Date: June 2, 2015 11:45 a.m.

The University of Regina’s 41st annual spring convocation on June 3, 4 and 5 will celebrate the outstanding achievements of its newest graduates at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina, starting at 2 p.m. each day.

In all, 19 students will be presented with awards for academic excellence and commitment to community service.

The University of Regina's President's Medal is awarded at each Convocation to a student receiving a first degree who has shown academic excellence as well as major leadership in, and commitment to, extra-curricular activities. The recipient of the medal for the 2015 Spring Convocation is Natasha Ku. She is graduating a Bachelor of Arts, major in Japanese, with Great Distinction and International Designation. She is also receiving a Bachelor of Science, major in Mathematics, with Great Distinction. Ku is also the recipient of the Faculty of Arts Dean’s Medal.

The recipient of the Governor General's Academic Gold Medal, which recognizes the most outstanding academic performance of a graduate student, is Dr. Darryl Hunter, who graduates with a Doctor of Philosophy in Education. He has received numerous graduate awards and scholarships, including being co-recipient of the 2014 President’s Distinguished Graduate Student Award.

The Governor General's Academic Silver Medal is awarded to the undergraduate student who achieves the highest academic standing in a bachelor's degree program. The recipient is Isabella Hugel who earns a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science with a Co-operative Education designation, achieving Great Distinction.

Additional student award winners who demonstrated high academic achievement and a deep commitment to their community are:

Diane Adams – Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science Dean’s Medal

Karyn Booy - Bachelor of Education After Degree (BEAD) Convocation Prize

Mikyla Jensen - W.A. Riddell Award in Fine Arts

Austin Josephson – Faculty of Fine Arts Dean’s Medal

Belma Kamencic & Tuan Mai – University Medal

Katelyn Kaufman - University Prize in Kinesiology and Health Studies

Pei Ying (Jackie) Kiew-Gaco – Faculty of Nursing/Saskatchewan  Polytechnic Deans’ Medal

Kristen Leigh - Faculty of Science Dean’s Medal

Chandra Lisitza – Saskatchewan Registered Nurses’ Association Gold Medal for Excellence in Clinical Practice

Nicole Nameth – Faculty of Business Administration Dean’s Medal

Nicole Nameth - Leon Goldman Scholarship

Shea O’Bertos - S.E Stewart Award in Arts

Barbara Pelletier - University Prize in Social Work

Brayden Willenborg – Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan Gold Medal in Engineering

Janelle Zborowski – Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation Prize


- 30 -