45th Spring Convocation celebrates several milestones

News Release Release Date: June 3, 2019 3:40 p.m.

The University of Regina's 45th annual Spring Convocation is being held June 5, 6 and 7 at the Main Theatre of the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina starting at 2:00 p.m. each day.

This year's Spring Convocation ceremonies will mark a number of milestones and celebrate several highlights.

  • 2,221 degrees, diplomas and certificates will be awarded to our graduates. This year's graduates will push the University's alumni community past the 75,000 member mark. The U of R has a thriving Alumni Association that connects alumni throughout the world and works to promote the accomplishments and support the future development of the University. URegina Alumni
  • 2019 will mark 50 years since the first Bachelor of Administration degrees were awarded at the Regina Campus. 1969 saw 28 pioneering graduates become the first to emerge from what was a brand-new program at the time.

"Celebrating 50 years of the BAdmin degree is a remakable milestone, especially with it being one of the first such degrees in North America," says Gina Grandy Dean of the Hill and Levene Schools of Business. "This program was unique in that the focus was on administration for any type of organization; public, private, government or non-profit as opposed to private business exclusively, and it laid the foundation for the strong business programs that we offer today."

An anniversary celebration was held in March of this year where a number of the original graduates reunited to look back on the success of the program and toast to the legacy they helped create. 50 Years BAdmin

Among this year's outstanding student awards:

  • The University of Regina President's Medal will be awarded to Taya Triffo, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy, Politics and Economics. This award is presented on the basis of academic excellence as well as leadership, volunteer spirit and commitment to the community.
  • The Governor General's Academic Gold Medal will be presented to Dr. Joanne Weber. This award recognizes outstanding academic performance of a graduate student. Weber, who is receiving a Doctor of Philosophy in Education, delivered a dissertation titled; Becoming Deaf in the Posthuman Era: Posthumanism Arts-based Research and Deaf Education which was described as "original... cutting-edge... and radical pedagogy for the deaf and hard of hearing."
  • Tristan Heisler will be receiving the Governor General's Academic Silver Medal as the most distinguished graduating student receiving a first degree. This award is based on academic excellence. Throughout his University career, Heisler has received 31 different engineering awards, scholarships and prizes as he pursued his studies in Software Systems Engineering.
  • The University Medal, awarded to the undergraduate student with the highest academic standing over the last year, will be presented to Annaliese Beck-McKenzie who is pursuing her Bachelor of Science degree with a major in Biology.

"This Convocation provides the opportunity to celebrate a number of key milestones for our University, such as reaching 75,000 alumni and marking the 50th anniversary of the Bachelor of Administration degree," says Dr. Vianne Timmons, President and Vice-Chancellor. "But most important of all, it provides the opportunity to celebrate 2,221 individual student milestones, each of them with a story behind it. That is the true measure of our continuing success and relevance as an educational institution helping to develop the next generation of leaders in our province and world."


About The University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 15,000 students study within the University's 10 faculties, 25 academic departments/schools, 18 research centres and institutes, and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees.


- 30 -