Professors recognized for excellence

News Release Release Date: June 4, 2014 11:15 a.m.

The University of Regina and University of Regina Alumni Association (URAA) will honour four professors with Excellence Awards at the 40th spring convocation. This year’s recipients are:

  • Dr. Mark Brigham (Biology), who receives the URAA Award for Excellence in Graduate Research Mentorship;
  • Dr. Yiyu Yao (Computer Science), who receives the URAA Award for Excellence in Research;
  • Prof. Patricia Elliott (Journalism) who receives the URAA Award for Excellence in Service;
  • Dr. Cory Butz (Computer Science), who receives the URAA Award for Excellence in Teaching.
The Alumni Association’s Excellence Awards have been awarded each year since 1990. The Awards celebrate the achievements of accomplished faculty in the areas of teaching, research and service. In 2013, the program was expanded to include the category of graduate research mentorship.

“The University of Regina community includes so many fine teachers, mentors, researchers, and service-oriented academics,” said University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Vianne Timmons. “I am particularly pleased to see our four Alumni Association Excellence Award-winners recognized for their contributions to the University. They embody the University’s motto As One Who Serves, and are shining examples for students and members of the greater community.”

“The Alumni Association is proud of the quality of teaching, research and service at the University of Regina as exemplified by these four outstanding scholars," said Alumni Association President, Jeph Maystruck. "We established these awards with the University to recognize faculty members who go beyond what is expected of them. I think these four are a perfect example of this!”

For additional information on the Awards and this year’s recipients, visit


- 30 -