University of Regina is going smoke free

News Release Release Date: June 12, 2018 1:45 p.m.

As of August 1, 2018, University of Regina campuses will be completely smoke free.

Under the new Smoke-Free Campus policy smoking tobacco, cannabis (marijuana) or other products, including cigarettes, electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes), cigars, cigarillos, pipe tobacco, etc. will not be permitted.

“The new policy replaces our Smoking on Campus policy, and is a continuation of efforts to ensure everyone learning, working or visiting our campuses have a safe, healthy and clean environment,” said Dave Button, Vice-President (Administration). “The previous policy was updated in September 2017 and reduced the number of areas where smoking was allowed on campus from 19 to 3 locations. The new policy builds on the success of that change to move us to a smoke-free campus.”

The smoking of tobacco or any other substance will not be allowed in any University owned or leased building, on leased or owned University property, or in University vehicles, or vehicles parked on University leased or owned property. Advertising or the sale of smoking and tobacco products on all University of Regina campuses will  be prohibited. The growing of cannabis will also not be allowed in any of the University residences.

The policy will allow tobacco to be burned on campus in accordance with the current University of Regina policy Smudging/Pipe Ceremonies. The use of medicinal cannabis for medical purposes is not covered by the policy and may be  recognized as a “duty to accommodate” under Saskatchewan Human Rights Legislation.

“We believe the decision to go smoke free is the right thing to do due to the well-known health risks associated with smoking and second-hand smoke, and to discourage tobacco use among young people,” said Button. “The University has also been considering the implications of the pending legalization of the recreational use of cannabis, which is expected this fall, and implementing a smoke-free policy now addresses many of the concerns associated with that federal initiative.”

Smoking is an addiction that is very hard to break and students, faculty and staff are encouraged to access smoking cessation programs available to them through their benefit plans or through the students’ union.

Additional information is available at:


About The University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, and Lakota nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 15,000 students study within the University's 10 faculties, 25 academic departments/schools, 18 research centres and institutes, and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral degrees. In 2017, the University of Regina was ranked in the Top 200 Best Young Universities in the world by Times Higher Education.


- 30 -