University of Regina announces 2019-20 Board of Governors

News Release Release Date: July 11, 2019 9:45 a.m.

The University of Regina is pleased to announce the 2019-20 Board of Governors.

Roger Brandvold will serve as Board Chair. Brandvold was appointed to the Board by the Government of Saskatchewan in 2015 and has served on several Board committees including as Chair of both the Human Resources and Finance and Facilities Committees. Brandvold is a partner and senior vice-president with Connor Clark & Lunn, Canada’s largest independent money manager. He is active in the community serving on boards including the RCMP Heritage Centre Board and Conexus Arts Centre Board as well as volunteering in various capacities. 

Brandvold replaces Cathy Warner who will remain on the Board as Past Chair. 

Dr. Marlene Smadu will serve as Vice-Chair. Smadu is a graduate of the University of Saskatchewan, St. Francis Xavier University and Nova Southeastern University. She has been a registered nurse for more than 40 years and was a member of the Regina Qu’Appelle Health Region’s senior leadership team. She was elected as a University of Regina Senate representative to the Board in 2017 and has served on both the Audit & Risk Management and Human Resources Committees during the past two years. 

Smadu replaces Pam Klein as Vice-Chair. Klein was recently elected Chancellor by the University of Regina Senate. Serving as the University’s ninth Chancellor, she will remain on the Board in an ex-officio role during her term which runs to June 30, 2022.

New to the Board is Victor Oriola. As President of the University of Regina Students’ Union, Oriola will serve a one year term as the University of Regina Students’ Union representative.

Continuing on the Board are Carlos Londoño Sulkin, Dr. Art Opseth, Glen Berger and Gary Bosgoed. Dr. Vianne Timmons, President and Vice-Chancellor, also continues her role as an ex-officio board member.

“I believe in the power of post-secondary education to improve people’s lives and benefit the world we live in,” said Brandvold. “I am honoured to work with the other members of the Board to support the University of Regina and its academic mission. I especially wish to thank both Cathy Warner and Pam Klein for their continued service to the University. Their leadership and their commitment to the University and to our community are tremendous assets.”

 – 30 –

About The University of Regina

The University of Regina—with campuses located on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations and the homeland of the Métis—is a comprehensive, mid-sized university that traces its roots back to the creation of Regina College in 1911. Today, more than 15,000 students study within the University's 10 faculties, 25 academic departments/schools, 18 research centres and institutes, and three federated colleges (Campion College, First Nations University of Canada, and Luther College). The University of Regina has an established reputation for excellence and innovative programs that lead to undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees.


- 30 -