University of Regina welcomes new chair to Board of Governors

News Release Release Date: August 6, 2013 8:50 a.m.

The University of Regina is pleased to announce the 2013-14 Board of Governors, which includes a new board chair.

Lee Elliott has been elected chair, after serving as vice-chair for two terms. A business entrepreneur and management consultant from White City, he obtained a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Regina in 2008. Mr. Elliott is the president of End of the Roll in Regina and a lecturer at the Paul J. Hill School of Business.

“I am honoured to serve as board chair in this era of attracting more international students and more Aboriginal students. As well, there is increased emphasis on our research initiatives, so I’m looking forward to working with the other board members as we develop plans for the future of the University of Regina,” says Mr. Elliott.

Also new to the board is ex-officio member Dr. Jim Tomkins, B.A. (Hon.), M.S., Ph.D., who was elected in 2013 as the eighth chancellor of the University of Regina. 

Daniel Kwochka will serve as vice-chair through to July 31, 2014. Mr. Kwochka is a partner with the law firm of McKercher LLP. He joined the firm in 1997 and has practised law in Regina since that time. He graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Advanced) from the University of Regina in 1993 and received a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Saskatchewan in 1996. He articled with the firm of McKercher, McKercher & Whitmore in 1996 and has remained with the firm, now called McKercher LLP, since that time as both an associate and a partner.

Continuing on the Board of Governors are: ex-officio member Dr. Vianne Timmons, president and vice-chancellor; Elaine Bourassa and Patrick Maze, both of whom were elected by the University of Regina Senate; Mark Brigham, elected by the University of Regina Council; Pam Klein and Cathy Warner, appointed by the Province of Saskatchewan; and Nathan Sgrazzutti, president of the University of Regina Students’ Union. Also continuing on the Board is past chair Paul McLellan, appointed by the Province of Saskatchewan.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank past chair Paul McLellan for his leadership and continuing commitment to our University and its students,” says University of Regina president and vice-chancellor, Dr. Vianne Timmons. “Mr. McLellan, Mr. Elliott and the other Board members are a dedicated group who will serve our University community well over the next year and into the future.”


- 30 -