Faculty

Sarah Abbott

Film Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 239.8
E-mail: sarah.abbott@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4437
Website: http://www.sarahabbott.ca

Research interests
Issues of being, human rights, ethics, the environment, Indigenous cultures and issues, and community engagement.

Wayne Baerwaldt

Michele Sereda Residency in Socially Engaged Practice
Artist-in-Residence

Katherine Bird

Michele Sereda Residency in Socially Engaged Practice
Artist-in-Residence

Kathryn Bracht

Theatre Department, Department Head
Associate Professor

Office: RC 274
E-mail: kathryn.bracht@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5590

Research interests
Acting and directing for theatre and film; new play development; devised theatre; physical theatre.

Joanne Bristol

Michele Sereda Residency in Socially Engaged Practice
Artist-in-Residence

Rebecca Caines

Interdisciplinary Programs Coordinator
Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Studies (Creative Technologies)

Office: RC 154
E-mail: rebecca.caines@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5520

Research interests
Performance studies, creative technologies, community-based practices, new media, sound art, improvisation, site-specific art, cultural studies, augmentation.

Ian Campbell

Film Department
Lab Instructor

Office: ED 239.3
E-mail: ian.campbell@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5313

Research interests
Digital Filmmaking and Visual Effects; VJ culture and Live Improvised Visuals; Kinetic Sculpture and 3D printing.

Ruth Chambers

Visual Arts Department
Professor

Office: RC 247.1
E-mail: ruth.chambers@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5575

Research interests
Ceramics, Installation, Contemporary Craft Theory

Francesco Freddolini

Art History - Luther
Associate Professor

Office: LC 114
E-mail: francesco.freddolini@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-206-2100

Research interests
History of sculpture, the history of collecting and displaying art, the relations between art, rituals and identity in court societies.

David Garneau

Visual Arts Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 245
E-mail: david.garneau@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5615

Research interests
Painting, contemporary Aboriginal art (Canada and Australia); critical art writing, curation.

Brent Ghiglione

Music Department, Department Head
Associate Professor, Director of Bands

Office: RC 256.2
E-mail: brent.ghiglione@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5542

Research interests
Wind Band repertoire, Conducting, Trumpet performance practices.

Dominic Gregorio

Music Department
Assistant Professor, Director of Choral Activities

Office: RC 256.1
E-mail: dominic.gregorio@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5538

Leanne Groeneveld

Theatre - Campion
Assistant Professor

Office: CM 313
E-mail: Leanne.Groeneveld@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1222
Website: http://www.campioncollege.ca/about-us/faculty-listing/dr-leanne-groeneveld

Research interests
Late medieval theatre production; late medieval and early modern religious drama; medieval aesthetics; medieval Passion drama; late medieval and early modern representations of Christ's body; Canadian, American, and UK representations of/responses to the Oberammergau Passion Play (1850-1950); modern Passion drama.

William Hales

Theatre Department
Instructor

Office: RC 180.1
E-mail: william.hales@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5568

Research interests
Lighting Design, Set Design and Video Projection Design, Theatre Technology (past and present), Theatre Ergonomics, and Theatre Creation for Close Audiences

Kelly Handerek

Theatre Department
Professor

Office: RC 272
E-mail: kelly.handerek@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5565

Research interests
Theatre and Performity as a Pluralistic Practice and The Chaotic Acceptance of Identity and Self.

Risa Horowitz

Visual Arts Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 047
E-mail: risa.horowitz@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5641
Website: http://www.risahorowitz.com

Research interests
Photo-based media; time-based, conceptual, collecting, and durational practices; amateurism and hobby; practice-based research.

Kathleen Irwin

Associate Dean, Graduate & Research
Theatre Department, Professor

Office: RC 180
E-mail: kathleen.irwin@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5519

Research interests
Site-specific practice, community-engaged art, web-based performance, identity, and mobility/stasis in performance.

Charity Marsh

Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance
Canada Research Chair: Interactive Media and Popular Music

Office: ED 239.12
E-mail: charity.marsh@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2623

Research interests
Indigenous Hip Hop Cultures; Popular Music in Canada; Electronic Dance Music Cultures; Interactive Media and Performance; Technology and Gender; Arts and Athleticism; Arts-Based Community Health

Philippe Mather

Film - Campion
Associate Professor

Office: CM 502
E-mail: Philippe.Mather@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1229

Research interests
Orientalism in Film, Film Music, Theories of Genre and Authorship, Stanley Kubrick, Science-Fiction.

Wes Pearce

Associate Dean, Undergraduate
Theatre Department, Professor

Office: RC 270
E-mail: wes.pearce@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5571

Research interests
Contemporary Canadian Theatre Design, Scenography in Sharon Pollock’s plays, Intersections of theatre, homophobia and queerness, musical theatre

Alain Perron

Music Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 256.3
E-mail: alain.perron@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5201

Research interests
Music composition (instrumental/vocal); Orchestration and Instrumentation; Electronic and Electroacoustic music; Conducting (symphonic orchestra/new music ensembles); Performance (oboe/English horn); Musical analysis 20th-21st century

Sheila Petty

Film Department
Professor

Office: ED239.9
E-mail: sheila.petty@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4188
Website: http://uregina.ca/~pettyss/

Helen Pridmore

Music Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 256.9
E-mail: helen.pridmore@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5540
Website: http://www.helenpridmore.ca

Research interests
Vocal Performance; New Scored Music and Experimental Music, especially by Canadian composers;Improvisation; Extended Vocal Techniques; Interdisciplinary Studies and Projects

Christine Ramsay

Film Department
Professor

Office: ED 239.5
E-mail: christine.ramsay@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4210

Research interests
Canadian and Saskatchewan cinemas; masculinities in contemporary cultures; curatorial studies in expanded cinema; culture of small cities; philosophies of identity.

Barbara Reul

Music - Luther
Professor

Office: LC 204
E-mail: barbara.reul@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5019

Research interests
Early music, especially early 18th-century German court music; J. F. Fasch and his contemporaries; archival research; women and music; organ music.

Carmen Robertson

Visual Arts Department
Professor

Office: RC 232
E-mail: carmen.robertson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2227

Research interests
Media and popular culture constructions of Indigenous peoples; Anishinaabe artist Norval Morrisseau; issues related to Indigenous pedagogy and how the arts offer fresh curricular directions.

Randal Rogers

Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance, Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Programs

Office: RC 273
E-mail: randal.rogers@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4746

Research interests
Research interests: visual cultures of forensics; spies and sexualities; biopolitics; flight/crash/simulation; universal expositions

Michael Rollo

Film Department
Instructor

Office: ED 239.2
E-mail: mike.rollo@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4569
Website: http://mrollo.com

Research interests
Documentary and experimental cinema; photography; cinema aesthetics; creative sound practice; film and video collectives.

Gerald Saul

Film Department
Associate Professor

Office: ED 153
E-mail: gerald.saul@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4619
Website: http://www.nmsl.uregina.ca/saul/index.html

Research interests
Experimental film, hand-processed and cameraless filmmaking, animation, alternative narrative and storytelling, and pinhole photography.

Megan Smith

Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance
Assistant Professor, Interdisciplinary Programs (Creative Technologies)

Office: RC 157
E-mail: Megan.Smith@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5554
Website: http://www.megansmith.ca

Research interests
New media, geo-location, storytelling, creative technologies, community-based practices, site-specific art, curation, DIY & maker culture, pop-up festival culture.

Rae Staseson

Dean

Office: RC269.1
E-mail: MAP.Dean@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5510
Fax: 306-585-5544

Brian Stockton

Film Department
Instructor

Office: ED 239.10
E-mail: brian.stockton@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4785

Christina Stojanova

Film Department
Associate Professor

Office: ED 239.7
E-mail: christina.stojanova@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5690

Research interests
Art, History, and Politics of (Post) Communist Cinemas; Text and Image in the Digital Age and the Philosophy of Ludwig Wittgenstein; Jungian Analytical Psychology.

Leesa Streifler

Visual Arts Department, Department Head
Professor

Office: RC 244
E-mail: leesa.streifler@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5529

Research interests
Two Dimensional Representation; Painting and Drawing techniques and methodologies; Figuration and Expressionism, Anatomy, Contemporary Art and Feminist practice; The Body with respect to self-image, agency, and marginalization; Mothering; Women and aging; Life Stages; Interspecies communication.

Robert Truszkowski

Visual Arts Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 035.3
E-mail: robert.truszkowski@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5574
Website: http://www.truszkowski.org

Research interests
(Conceptual) Popular culture; text, language, and communication; rap music; religion (Technical) Expanded colour and resolution possibilities in studio Printmaking (particularly in Ultra-violet cured (UV) silkscreen); digital print applications; lower and non-toxic approaches to studio printmaking

Christine Vanderkooy

Music Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 256.1
E-mail: christine.vanderkooy@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5502

Research interests
Solo Piano Performance; Collaborative Piano; Chamber Music; Piano Pedagogy; Music Performance Anxiety; The Development of the Keyboard; Russian Piano Music of the 20th Century.

Sean Whalley

Visual Arts Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 158
E-mail: sean.whalley@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5581

Mark Wihak

Film Department, Department Head
Associate Professor

Office: ED 239.6
E-mail: mark.wihak@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2233

Research interests
Alternative approaches to fiction filmmaking; documentary filmmaking; forms of storytelling.

Staff

Jan Bell

Faculty Administrator

Office: RC 269.2
E-mail: jan.bell@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5583

Janelle Bennett

Academic Program Coordinator

Office: RC 267.2
E-mail: janelle.bennett@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5576

Roland Bourgeois

Technician
Film Department

Office: ED 149.1
E-mail: roland.bourgeois@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5061

Joe Caron

Technician
Film Department

Office: ED 152
E-mail: joe.caron@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4857

Morley Crowle

University Theatres Coordinator
Theatre Operations Unit

Office: RC 172
E-mail: morley.crowle@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5648

Floyd Gadd

Piano Technician
Music Department

Office: RC 256.10
E-mail: floyd.gadd@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5586

Nicole Gallon-Carriere

Administrative Assistant
Dean's Office

Office: RC 269
E-mail: nicole.gallon-carriere@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5557

Jesse Goddard

Technician
Visual Arts Department

Office: RC 161.3
E-mail: jesse.goddard@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5578

Joanne Keen

Administrative Assistant
Visual Arts Department

Office: RC 247
E-mail: joanne.keen@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5572

Valerie Kokotailo

Administrative Assistant
Music Department Office

Office: RC 257
E-mail: val.kokotailo@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5532
Fax: 306-585-5549

Sarah Lakhan

Administrative Assistant
Dean's Office

Office: RC 269
E-mail: sarah.lakhan@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5560

Jen Lockwood

Administrative Assistant
Student Program Centre

Office: RC 267.1
E-mail: jennifer.lockwood@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5570

Angel McDowell

Storekeeper
Media, Art, and Performance Art Store

Office: RC 022
E-mail: angel.mcdowell@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2367

Cathy Mearns

Wardrobe Technician
Theatre Department

Office: RC 268
E-mail: cathy.mearns@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5567

Dianne Ouellette

Research Support and Lab Manager

Office: RIC 313
E-mail: dianne.ouellette@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2535

Rita Racette

Administrative Assistant
Theatre/Interdisciplinary Programs Admin

Office: RC 271
Phone: 306-585-5562

Mason Roth

Theatre Department
Theatre & Scene Shop Technician

Office: RC 065
E-mail: mason.roth@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5511

Andrea Stachowich

Administrative Assistant
Film Department

Office: ED243
E-mail: andrea.stachowich@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4796

Kenneth Young

University Theatres Technician
Theatre Operations Unit

Office: RC 171
E-mail: kenneth.young@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-3258

Darcy Zink

Technician, Ceramics and Sculpture
Visual Arts Department

Office: RC 161.3
E-mail: darcy.zink@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5182