Position Profile

Reporting to the Board of Governors, the President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Regina leads the development and implementation of the University’s three-part academic mission of teaching, research, and service to community. 

In this capacity, the President engages with students, faculty, staff, and stakeholders such as government and members of the larger community to define and realize the University’s educational and administrative vision.  

Working together with the University Executive Team, the President is ultimately responsible for all operations of the University of Regina which are guided by the President's yearly objectives. The University Executive Team reports directly to the President.

At each meeting of the Board of Governors, the President submits a written report outlining progress on identified strategic objectives.  Copies of these reports may be found on the Board of Governors Meetings and Minutes page.


Past University of Regina Presidents:

2020-2021:  Dr. Thomas Chase

2008-2020:  Dr. Vianne Timmons

2007-2008:  Dr. R. James Tomkins

2005-2006:  Mr. Robert E. Hawkins

1998-2005:  Dr. David T. Barnard

1990-1998:  Dr. Donald O. Wells

1976-1990:  Dr. Lloyd I. Barber

1974-1976:  Dr. John H. Archer