Notice: COVID-19 resources, information and plans for current and upcoming academic terms. Learn more.

Academic Staff and Researchers

Mark Brigham

Professor

Office: LB 242
E-mail: Mark.Brigham@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4255 or 306-585-4562
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Bats/Nightjars, Animal Ecology, Thermoregulation, Hibernation, Energetics

Josef Buttigieg

Associate Professor

Office: RIC 218
E-mail: Josef.Buttigieg@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2569
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Neurobiology, Stem Cell Physiology

Andrew Cameron

Associate Professor

Office: RIC 323
E-mail: Andrew.Cameron@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2568
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Bacteriology, Molecular genetics, Microbial ecology

Tzu-Chiao Chao

Environmental Proteomics Scientist
Institute of Environmental Change and Society

Office: RIC 524
E-mail: tzu-chiao.chao@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-8864

Research interests
Molecular Cell Biology, Proteomics, Transcriptomics, Microfluidics

Maria Davis

Laboratory Instructor

Office: LB 414.4
E-mail: Maria.Davis@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4441
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Microbiology (bacterial stress responses), Genetics

Heather Dietz

Laboratory Instructor

Office: LB 414.2
E-mail: Heather.Dietz@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4286
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Microbiology, Science Education, Academic Indigenization/Decolonization

Nola Erhardt

Laboratory Instructor

Office: LB 414.3
E-mail: Nola.Erhardt@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2530
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Cell biology

Kerri Finlay

Associate Professor

Office: LB 252
E-mail: Kerri.Finlay@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4236
Fax: 306-337-2410
Website: http://kerrifinlay.wixsite.com/kerri

Research interests
Limnology, Carbon budgets of lakes, Greenhouse gas emissions, Lake water quality

Daniel Gagnon

Professor

Office: LB 243
E-mail: Daniel.Gagnon@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2971
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Forest ecology, Plant Conservation Biology,
Hardwood Reforestation and Restoration, Hybrid poplar riparian buffers and agroforests

Fidji Gendron

Associate Professor
First Nations University of Canada

Office: SI 1517, First Nations University of Canada
E-mail: fgendron@fnuniv.ca
Phone: 306-790-5950 ext 3335
Website: http://fnuniv.ca/images/faculty/Gendron_Fidji.pdf

Research interests
Plant Ecology, Traditional Plant Uses

Britt Hall

Professor

Office: LB 260
E-mail: Britt.Hall@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2355
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Biogeochemistry

Nicole Hansmeier

Assistant Professor
Luther College at the University of Regina

Office: LC222
E-mail: Nicole.Hansmeier@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-206-2102

Research interests
Systems biology, Pathogen-host interaction, Disease signatures, Public health

Mel Hart

Laboratory Instructor

Office: LB 414.1
E-mail: Mel.Hart@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4284
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Entomology, Physiology

Peter R. Leavitt

FRSC, Professor, Canada Research Chair in Environmental Change and Society
Director, Institute of Environmental Change and Society

Office: LB 265.1
E-mail: Peter.Leavitt at uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4253
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Limnology

Richard Manzon

Professor
Department Head

Office: RIC 219
E-mail: Richard.Manzon@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2417 or 306-337-2418
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Environmental/Stress Physiology, Endocrinology, Fish Biology

Gavin Simpson

Quantitative Environmental Scientist
Institute of Environmental Change and Society

Office: RIC 523
E-mail: gavin.simpson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-8863
Fax: 306-337-2410
Website: http://www.fromthebottomoftheheap.net/

Research interests
Quantitative Ecology, Paleoecology, Environmental Change

Chris Somers

Professor

E-mail: chris.somers@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4850 or 306-585-4847(lab)
Fax: 306-337-2410
Website: http://www.somersbiology.ca/

Research interests
Wildlife Ecology, Genetics

John Stavrinides

Associate Professor

E-mail: john.stavrinides@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-8478
Fax: 306-337-2410
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/stavrinideslaboratory/

Research interests
Bacterial Pathogenesis, Host-Microbe Interactions, Genetics and Genomics, Bioinformatics

Mark Vanderwel

Assistant Professor

Office: LB248
E-mail: mark.vanderwel@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2544
Fax: 306-337-2410
Website: http://vanderwelforestlab.weebly.com/

Research interests
Tree demography, Forest dynamics, Global change

Harold Weger

Associate Professor

Office: LB 255
E-mail: Harold.Weger@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4479
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Algal and Cyanobacterial Nutrient Acquisition

Bjoern Wissel

Associate Director of IECS (Institute of Environmental Change and Society)

E-mail: bjoern.wissel@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4890
Fax: 306-337-2410

Research interests
Aquatic Ecology, Stable Isotope

Christopher Yost

Professor

E-mail: Chris.Yost@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5223 or 306-585-4285(lab)
Fax: 306-337-2410
Website: http://uregina.ca/~yost200d/index.html

Research interests
Microbiology, Host-Microbe Interactions