Upcoming Events

Welcome to the Department of Geology

Welcome to the Department of Geology, part of the Faculty of Science at the University of Regina.

We offer several undergraduate degree pathways, which can easily be tailored to meet individual requirements. Graduates with a B.Sc. in geology or a  B.Sc. in environmental geoscience from the University of Regina are eligible to apply for membership in the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan. We also offer exciting Master's and Ph.D. programs, and we are extremely proud of our students' employment record.

Our faculty members, graduate students and collaborators are active in various fields of geoscience research including petroleum and mineral resources and environmental studies. Graduate students have the opportunities to conduct field-based projects in various parts of Saskatchewan, Canada and elsewhere in the world as well as laboratory-based research.

This website provides information on the degrees that we offer, our faculty and staff, research fields and facilities, student support and opportunities, as well as news and events in the Department of Geology. We hope this website has been helpful to you and we welcome your feedback.


December 5, 2018: In the 49th Saskatchewan Geological Open House held from December 3 to 5, 2018 in Saskatoon, undergraduate student Erik Miller from the Department of Geology, University of Regina, won the Best Poster Award (the SGS President's Award) in the undergraduate category. Another student from the same department, Shelby Brandt, won the Second Best Poster Award, also in the undergraduate category. Both students are supervised by Dr. Kathryn Bethune. Master student Zachary Maurer, supervised by Dr. Osman Salad Hersi, won the Third Best Poster Award in the graduate category. Congratulations to our students and their supervisors!