2023 Science Awards Group Photo

Faculty & Staff Awards 2022

  1. U of R Home
  2. Faculty of Science
  3. Meet Us
  4. Faculty & Staff Awards 2022

2022 Faculty & Staff Awards

The Faculty of Science Award for Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Maria Davis, Laboratory Instructor III in the Department of Biology, receives the Science Award for Teaching Excellence. Dr. Davis is a University of Regina CTL Fellow and a leading advocate for advancing equity, diversity, and inclusion in STEM classrooms. She is committed to all aspects of teaching and mentoring, from leading students through scientific development in the lab and classroom to directing undergraduate students in research. She chairs the Canadian Society for Microbiologists (CSM) Committee on Microbiology Undergraduate Education and co-chairs the annual Forum on Microbiology Education.
Maria Davis
The Faculty of Science Award for Excellence in Research
Dr. Mohan Babu, Professor in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, receives the Science Award for Research Excellence. Dr. Babu has made major contributions to the understanding of protein interaction networks in bacterial and yeast cells using synthetic genetic arrays and state-of-the art mass spectrometry techniques. He has expanded his proteomics platform to examine protein interactions in mitochondria, with relevance to a number of medical conditions including neurodegeneration.  He has built a very active research group, with roughly 16 members currently and 50 alumni. Dr. Babu’s accomplishments have already been recognised by a SHRF Mid-Career Impact Award, the University of Regina’s Chancellor’s Chair, and the CIHR New Investigator Award.
Mohan Babu
The Faculty of Science Distinguished Long Service Award
The Science Distinguished Long Service award is presented to Dr. Renata Raina-Fulton, Professor of Chemistry and Head of the Departments of Chemistry & Biochemistry and Geology. Dr. Raina-Fulton is recognised for her outstanding contributions to our academic mission, her high degree of professionalism, strong commitment to the Faculty of Science and her academic departments, and the positive and lasting impact Renata has had on the Faculty of Science students, staff, and faculty. She has deftly and personally mentored new faculty members and sessional lecturers, and counseled hundreds of undergraduate and graduate students. She is a skilled facilitator of conflict resolution and change management. As the elected Director of the Canadian Council of Chemistry Chairs since 2020, she has instituted numerous EDI initiatives. Dr. Raina-Fulton is also an inspiring researcher who juggles her NSERC program with industry and government contracts, tracking pesticide transport at agricultural field stations in Canadian and the US. She has been the Director of the Trace Analysis Facility at University of Regina since 2005, received the Top Reviewer Award from Atmospheric Environment for 2012 – 2013, and was recognised with a Presidential Citation for Exemplary Service by the Society for Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry in 2018. An exemplary leader, Dr. Raina-Fulton is known to be ethical, fair, inclusive, innovative, level-headed, thoughtful, and a generous listener.
Renata Raina-Fulton
The Faculty of Science Staff Excellence Award
Ms. Marie Dmytrow, Administrative Assistant for the Department of Biology, receives the Science Staff Excellence Award. Without question, Ms. Dmytrow excels at all aspects her position. She has a deep knowledge of the University’s systems and processes, providing expert support to the academic mission.  She has an uncanny ability to simply get the job done with exacting precision despite being in a large and very busy department. Her welcoming demeanour is always appreciated, particularly by students who are trying to navigate the complicated seas of a university.

Marie Dmytrow