Returning to campus: Information, updates and vaccination requirements. Learn more.

Faculty

Ulrike Hardenbicker

Department Head; Associate Professor, Environmental Studies Program Coordinator
PhD (Bonn)

Office: CL 325.1
E-mail: Ulrike.Hardenbicker@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4679

Current classes
Fall 2021 - GES 323

Research interests
Badland erosion, slope stability, geomorphic hazards, land degradation

Louis Awanyo

Professor (Luther College)
PhD (Queen's)

Office: Luther College 224
E-mail: Louis.Awanyo@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5042
Website: https://www.luthercollege.edu/university/academics/faculty-profiles/louis-awanyo

Current classes
Fall 2021 - GES 100, GES 316

Research interests
Development geography, Africa, political ecology, agrobiodiversity and agrodiversity, geopolitics, geography of housing, geography of tourism, ecotourism

Mark Cote

Instructor III
MSc (Regina)

Office: CL 325.3
E-mail: Mark.Cote@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4879

Current classes
Fall 2021 - GES 121, GES 321

Research interests
Atmospheric science (meteorology and climatology), solar radiation, environmental science

Emily Eaton

Associate Professor
PhD (University of Toronto)

Office: CL 340.2
E-mail: Emily.Eaton@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4032
Pronoun(s): She/her
Website: www.saskoil.org

Current classes
Fall 2021 - GES 222

Research interests
Fossil fuels, just energy transitions, natural resource economies, political ecology and economy

Samantha Kerr

Term Assistant Professor
PhD (University of Regina)

Office: CL 325.2
E-mail: Samantha.Kerr@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4242
Pronoun(s): she/her

Current classes
Fall 2021 - GES 100, GES 411

Research interests
Paleoclimatology, paleo-proxies, hydroclimatic variability, environmental modelling, geographic information systems

Vanessa Mathews

Associate Professor
PhD (University of Toronto)

Office: CL 339
E-mail: Vanessa.Mathews@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5329

Current classes
Fall 2021 - GES 120, GES 246

Research interests
Craft beer, building reuse, heritage, urban space, urban planning, gentrification, embodied practice

Joseph Piwowar

Professor (On Sabbatical Leave)
PhD (Waterloo)

Office: CL 411
E-mail: Joe.Piwowar@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5273

Research interests
Remote sensing, geographic information systems, climate change impacts, northern mixed-grass prairie, Arctic sea ice.

David Sauchyn

Professor; Director of the Prairie Adaptation Research Collaborative (PARC)
PhD (Waterloo)

Office: Second floor - 2 Research Drive, PARC (Prairie Adaptation Research Collaborative)
E-mail: David.Sauchyn@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2299

Current classes
Fall 2021 - GES 121-397

Research interests
hydroclimate of the past millennium, response of watersheds to climate variability and change, translation of climate change science for adaption decision making.

Julia Siemer

Associate Professor, Coordinator - BGISc program
PhD (Potsdam)

Office: CL 329
E-mail: Julia.Siemer@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4405

Current classes
Fall 2021 - GES 203, GES 207

Research interests
Thematic cartography, visualization in geographic information systems, and atlas cartography

Staff

Mari-Louise Terblanche

Administrative Assistant

Office: CL 340
E-mail: ges.dept@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4222