Graduate Scholarships & Awards

Senior Women Academic Administrators of Canada (SWAAC) Graduate Student Award of Merit


At least three awards will be awarded annually to the women graduate students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the university or general community while maintaining an exemplary academic record. 

Please see the website for full details:

Area(s) of Study: Unrestricted
Value: 4 awards at $3,500 each

Women registered in Master's or PhD programmes at any Member Institution of AUCC within a designated region are eligible to be nominated. The regions are defined as follows, and eligibility shall rotate among them: Quebec (2021); Atlantic Provinces (2022); Ontario (2023); Western Provinces (2024) - 4 awards; [2022].

Candidates must have:

- Outstanding academic performance;

- Evidence of leadership, including but not limited to such things as: executive positions in student organization;

- Participation on committees (student committees and university committees);

- Organization of special events, conferences, etc;

- Involvement in advocacy groups;   

- Involvement in volunteer organizations within the campus setting and/or in the general community.

Student Status: Full-time

There is no application form for this award. Each university in the designated region may nominate, through FGSR, one person for the award.  Full documentation in support of the nomination, including:

  • biographical data
  • curriculum vitae
  • academic records
  • three letters of reference

Faculty of Graduate Studies & Research (

Deadline: The next available application/competition for Western Canada students to apply is November 2024. (We will set the deadline in 2024)